a special day

25 Oct

Hello!

Today has been a very special day.

This morning when I rolled out of bed, I decided that today would be one of the best days of the year. And it was!  It was!

For starters I booked it to the gym and made a leap towards getting out of my workout rut.  After sadly taking a step back from marathon training, I’ve had a hard time getting back into a groove.  This morning I stopped making excuses and got my be-hind in gear!  Right after popping 3 dried apricots for some energy.

I kicked things off with a 25 minute interval run on the treadmill.  IMO intervals make the time go by so much faster.  Well, that and a killer playlist.  Anyway.  Instead of focusing so much on getting through a 25 minute run, I was able to break it down and focus on getting through each interval. Here it is:

walking warmup
–  2 min. at 6.0
–  1 min. at 6.5
–  1 min. at 7.0
–  1 min. at 7.5
–  2 min. at 6.0
–  1 min. at 6.5
–  1 min. at 7.0
–  1 min. at 7.5
–  1 min. at 6.0
–  1 min. at 6.5
–  1 min. at 7.0
–  1 min. at 6.0
–  1 min. at 6.5
–  1 min. at 7.0
–  1 min. at 6.0
–  1 min. at 6.5
–  1 min. at 7.0
–  1 min. at 7.5
–  walk for 5 min.

Felt so great when it was over.  Exhilarating:)

Next up: the weights.

I’ve been avoiding the iron for months.  But not today.  I started with free weights, working my arms; then moved to machines to work my legs.  And I finished it all off with some serious plank action on the mat.  Serious plank action, I tell ya.  Hardest part of the entire workout.

Once I got home, I refueled with a green smoothie.

1 scoop Vega powder, 1 cup almond milk, 2 handfuls spinach, 1/2 banana, chia seeds and ice

Lunch was leftover vegan spinach enchiladas from last night.  Just as good the second time around.

And then it was off to tutoring!  As you guys know, I adore the students I tutor.  Okay, okay.  Nada sometimes drives me a little batty, but other than that they always bring a smile to my face.   Not only that, but I almost always come away a wiser person.  Here’s what I learned today:

from Hey-Kyoung: Korean people keep two refrigerators.  One for regular food.  And one for kimchi.  An entire fridge for kimchi!  Are you, my fellow nut butter lovers, thinking what I’m thinking? muahahaha.

from Nada: the cookie monster (you know the one – from Sesame Street) no longer eats a lot of cookies apparently.  Have you all heard about this?  Somehow it was decided that he was partially to blame for childhood obesity, so now he eats veggies and says that “cookies are a sometimes food.”  What?!

They never cease to entertain.  My students that is, not Sesame Street.

By the time I got done tutoring it was past 5:30, and I was famished!  I had snacked on a Larabar between meetings, but it was quickly wearing away.  I decided to keep dinner simple and quick.

I chopped up a kabocha squash into thin wedges and then brushed them with coconut oil before putting them in the oven at 400 degrees for about 20-25 minutes.

Next, I drained and rinsed some canned chickpeas, spread them on a cookie sheet and shook cumin, garlic powder and seasoned salt all over them before sticking them in the oven as well for about 15 minutes.

I also cut up one flax protein pita into triangles and baked it for about 10 minutes.

Our oven was full of love tonight! ha.

Everything was going great until I opened our fridge and was attacked by a soy yogurt.

Time to clean out the fridge, folks.

Anyway, dinner came together nicely.  A bit random, but it worked.

spread with a little bit of Earth Balance

I had so much leftover squash tonight that I couldn’t help but come up with a tasty way to use it…well, besides the obvious of slathering it with EB and eating it straight up, but you already knew that.

Stay tuned tomorrow for the creamiest vegan squash soup you’ve ever laid eyes on.

Now that’s special.

G’night!

Did you watch Sesame Street when you were a kid?  What was your favorite childhood TV show?  Mister Rogers? CareBears? My favorite was My Little Pony.  Every day after we took my sister to school, I would run straight to the TV and ask “is it 43 or 34?”  I never could remember which channel, but I had to have my pony fix:)

22 Responses to “a special day”

  1. Ely October 25, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    I loved carebears until it went to cable!

    • candice October 26, 2010 at 8:48 am #

      Sad! I had no idea it went to cable. Is it still on?

  2. Amy B @ Second City Randomness October 26, 2010 at 6:09 am #

    I used to love seaseme street. Then I saw one of the big bird movies and all the sudden started getting nightmares about big bird.

    Once you think about it, he really is creepy.

    I stopped watching after that…

    • candice October 26, 2010 at 8:50 am #

      lol. Did that movie happened to be named Follow That Bird?

      Because if so, that is one of my sister and I’s favorite movies of all time! It’s about big bird getting sent to live with a bird family and then he runs away to get back to Sesame Street and these people are trying to kidnap him.

      Anyway, I better stop now… 😉

  3. Rhea October 26, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    I LOVED Mr. Rogers and Eureka’s Castle. I remember posting up RIGHT in front of the TV and eating a carrot while watching them. Take that, Pied Piper Cookie Monster!

    • candice October 26, 2010 at 8:52 am #

      haha! I loved Mr. Rogers too, although my sister claimed it as her favorite. And her snack of choice was always a pudding pop, rather than a carrot:)

      Never heard of Eureka’s Castle? Might have to look that one up…

  4. Heather (Where's the Beach) October 26, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    Your enchiladas always look so good. And I love kabocha, just had to say that. I totally agree with you on intervals making the time go faster. That’s about the only way I can manage the dreadmill. And high fives on weights!!!

    • candice October 26, 2010 at 8:53 am #

      Thanks, girl! I hoped you’d be proud;) Oh, and I don’t know if I mentioned this to you, but I’ve totally come around on Daiya. You can see it peeking out of my enchilada. I guess I just had to get used to the texture – either way, I love it now!

  5. amber@SAHM's musings October 26, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    I liked Mr. Rogers & the Getalong Gang.
    I’m curious…what’s on your playlist?

    • candice October 26, 2010 at 9:04 am #

      I think my playlist might be a little odd…the kind of music that keeps me going is a bit interesting I think, but maybe it’s not as odd as I think it is. I love it though! I’ll let you be the judge:)

      I created this playlist while we were marathon training, but I still use it even just for intervals on the treadmill. Oh, and I put it on random order so I don’t get the same artist 19 times in a row.

      100 Years – Five for Fighting
      Fallin’ For You – Colbie Caillat (CC)
      Droplets – CC
      Fearless-CC
      Realize-CC
      Big Yellow Taxi-Counting Crows
      Hanginaround – Counting Crows
      A Long December- Counting Crows
      The Climb – Miley Cyrus (I’m a bit embarrassed by this one, but it’s honestly one of my favorites for runs:)
      God of this City – Chris Tomlin
      Her Eyes – Pat Monahan
      Pirate on the Run – Pat Monahan/Sheryl Crow
      Someday – Pat Monahan
      Vegas – Sara Bareilles
      Love is a Ladder – Pat Monahan
      Many the Miles – Sara Bareilles
      Need You Now – Lady Antebellum
      The Riddle – Five for Fighting
      World – Five for Fighting
      Johnny America – Five for Fighting
      Two Lights – Five for Fighting
      Freedom Never Cries – Five for Fighting

      Not sure if you were looking for a comprehensive list, but here it is! ha

      • amber@SAHM's musings October 28, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

        Thanks for the list!!!!! I will definitely check these out! Don’t know if I’ve heard of Pat Monahan.

      • candice October 29, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

        Your welcome! Have you heard of Train? Pat Monahan is the lead singer, but he also does some solo stuff. You should definitely check him out if you get a chance!

      • amber@SAHM's musings November 12, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

        I bought Miley- The Climb. Had a code for some free music from Quaker and this was on the list 🙂

      • candice November 15, 2010 at 8:58 am #

        haha – yea!!

  6. kelli October 26, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    oh my, i had no idea about cookie monster! that’s pretty funny, actually. i loved sesame street, mr. rogers (who was vegetarian!) and reading rainbow. as a kid i was a huge tv lover and would get up early just to watch carebears and dr. fad. cute you couldn’t remember the channel!

    ps – i LOVE kabocha squash and garbanzos. that dinner is right up my alley!

  7. kelli October 26, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    omg – i loved follow that bird too!!!

    • candice October 27, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

      really?!! I thought I was the only one! My favorite is Ms. Finch:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. the secret to workout motivation + a giveaway!|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - October 27, 2010

    […] morning I put in a quick interval workout just like yesterday’s.  My legs felt like lead!  I wanted to stop so badly after about 15 minutes, but I just kept […]

  2. sweet pumpkin chia pudding|ChiaSeedMe - November 8, 2010

    […] I made it to the gym for another day of cardio and strength.  I’m happy to report that since I committed to doing more weight lifting, I have been sticking to the new schedule pretty well!  It’s […]

  3. cheesy noodle dish + blog reading tips|ChiaSeedMe - December 2, 2010

    […] morning Jon and I hit the gym a little late, so I did a really quick interval run.  Sometimes it’s hard for me to get the motivation to kill it on the treadmill, but when I […]

Leave a Reply

