bad day better

4 Nov

Busy busy day!  Wednesdays are always a little crazy, and today was no different.  I woke up in a bit of a down mood – not sure why.  Maybe lack of sleep as of late?  Either way, I booked it to the gym and lifted weights and worked on some ab exercises for about 45 minutes, and by the time I got home I was feeling a little better. I had planned on getting in a little cardio as well, but the treadmills were all full, and I was under a major time crunch, so I decided to skip it for today!

I spent the afternoon tutoring on campus and then rushed to teach my yoga class at 5:30.  Yoga was refreshing today.  I was really needing it after sitting all afternoon.  A deep ache had worked itself into my shoulders and neck, and almost all I could think about during my last tutoring session was working it out on my mat.

I have to say, the only negative so far about teaching classes is the lack of feedback.  Occasionally one of my students will tell me they enjoyed class on their way out the door, but for the most part I feel like I have no clue what they’re thinking!  I feel like I leave class a lot of weeks thinking the worst – maybe they didn’t like the poses we did, maybe my voice is annoying.  Was my cueing off?  Will they all decide not to come next week? Ahhhh!

It’s enough to make a girl crazy!

Must. Work. On. Positivity.

Anyway!  So as promised yesterday, I have a fun new recipe for ya’ll.  You’re sure to love this!

“Jack of All Trades” Chickpea Patties
adapted from Eat Drink and Be Vegan

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup red cabbage, chopped
  • 1/2 cup cooked broccoli, chopped
  • a pinch of salt
  • a pinch of black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp ground red pepper
  • 2 cups canned chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tbsp tamari
  • 3/4 tsp dried thyme
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 cups cooked bulgur
  • 3/4 cup quick oats

Directions

  • Add 1 tsp olive oil to a skillet over medium heat.  Toss in onion, cabbage, broccoli, salt, pepper, ground red pepper and saute until vegetables are tender.
  • Meanwhile, add warm chickpeas (if they’re warm, they’ll process more easily), garlic, Worcestershire sauce, tamari, thyme and salt to food processor and puree until smooth.
  • Add in sauteed veggies and process again until smooth.
  • Add 1 cup bulgur to processor and puree until incorporated into the chickpea mixture.
  • Transfer contents of food processor into a large bowl.  Add remaining 1 cup cooked bulgur and stir until combined.
  • Place mixture in the refrigerator and let set for at least 1/2 hour. I allowed mine to set overnight.
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees and grease a baking sheet.
  • Remove from fridge and shape mixture into patties.  Shape some of the mixture into “chickpea balls” if you so desire:)  I highly recommend it:)
  • Place patties on baking sheet and allow to bake for 20 minutes.  Flip patties and allow to cook for another 20 minutes.
  • If making balls, cook for 20 minutes and then turn them before cooking another 10 minutes.

see how well they hold together?

There are hundreds of things you could do with these patties.  They hold together really well, so you could eat them burger style.  You could also just eat them with a fork dipped in barbecue sauce or ketchup.  Or use them as a salad topper!

These were delicious in my opinion.  Crispy on the outside, moist on the inside.  And best of all, they were husband approved! Hands down my favorite “veggie burger” I’ve ever made.  And the balls were delicious too…and fun to eat:)

And of course you must have a side of chips/fries!

This little meal was well worth the wait.  I’ll definitely be making this again in the future!

So here’s to a bad day ending better.  Hope you all had a wonderful Wednesday!  Like I always say, it’s all downhill from here.

And now I’ll leave you with this.  Just because I can’t resist:)

G’night!

What do you do to make a bad day better?

10 Responses to “bad day better”

  1. Kristina @ spabettie November 4, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    I get out and run if I can! I’ve also been known to get out in the garage and punch the heavy bag – that is highly therapeutic! 😀

    Sometimes all that will fix things is a stack of current magazines and a nice warm bath.

    • candice November 4, 2010 at 11:54 am #

      omg, I so wish I had a bag to punch! I did it once at the gym, and it as so therapeutic! Kind of scary actually;)

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) November 4, 2010 at 7:45 am #

    Um yes, you have to have chips/fries with chickpea patties 😉 Love the cabbage in there. I was in a major funk yesterday too (and Monday). Maybe it’s the season changing?

    • candice November 4, 2010 at 11:55 am #

      Yeah, I was a little nervous about the cabbage addition, but it worked!

      Hope you’re feeling better tod

  3. Joslyn @ missfitbliss.com November 4, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    The photos with the purple cabbage are so beautiful! I hope you’re feeling better now! The doggy is just so sweet, I love it when you include pics of her/him:) A nap tends to make me feel better when I’m down.

    • candice November 4, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

      Thanks, girl:) I’m feeling much better today.

      I totally agree about naps. I almost always wake up with a renewed perspective:) I hope you’re having a great day!

  4. amber@SAHM's musings November 4, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    I’ve been in and out of a funk too this week. Maybe it’s the cold front? I don’t know. Stay positive with your class. The fact is people do keep coming back so I’m sure you are doing great! I finally tried your pumpkin oats recipe and they were tasty!

  5. salah@myhealthiestlifestyle November 5, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    OMG those patties look delish!!!!

    • candice November 7, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

      Thanks – they are delish!

      Thanks for stopping by and saying hi:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. things that make me smile|ChiaSeedMe - November 5, 2010

    […] leftovers […]

Leave a Reply

