sweet pumpkin chia pudding

8 Nov

Good evening!

This morning I made it to the gym for another day of cardio and strength.  I’m happy to report that since I committed to doing more weight lifting, I have been sticking to the new schedule pretty well!  It’s funny how when I get back in the routine of weights, I can’t figure out why I ever got out of it.

Before I headed out this morning, I popped a few of my new favorite pre-workout snack.

Dried apricots are a great snack for workouts – at least for me.  They don’t weigh me down, I can eat them quickly, and they are relatively high in carbs and low in calories.  I usually eat anywhere from 3-6 right before a medium intensity workout.  Of course if I was going for a longer or more intense workout, I might want to eat something more substantial.  I’ve also been using them to curb my sweet cravings after meals – just a couple of them do the trick!

Monday is my busiest day of the week, and today it turned out to be extraordinarily busy because I got a new tutoring student!  She’s another sweet Korean girl, wife to one of my current students and as cute as pie.  International students make me smile big time:)

You know what else makes me smile big time?  Comments from you! I just want to say thanks so much to all of you who read my ramblings.  While I write this blog because I feel passionate about food and healthy living, and I love writing about and taking pictures of it, it wouldn’t be near the same if you didn’t talk back to me.  You guys rock. Seriously:)

Speaking of readers and comments, I got a comment the other day from reader Sarah who asked if I’ve ever made chia pudding.  “Why no, no I haven’t” I replied.  And then I asked myself – why have I not made chia pudding??

I love chia seeds so much that I named my blog after them and yet I haven’t made one of the coolest and most chia like recipes out there.  Something is wrong with this picture.  In fact, I think chias have taken a bit too long of a hiatus from CSM.  It’s time to bring ’em back!

And what better way to bring them back than paired with my other favorite obsession as of late.

Pumpkin of course!

Sweet Pumpkin Chia Pudding

Here’s what you’ll need:

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin (I used 1/4 cup this morning, but will up it to 1/3 next time)
  • 3-4 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup soy milk (any kind of nut milk would work)
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Directions

  • In a medium bowl, whisk together all ingredients until well mixed.
  • Place bowl in the refrigerator and allow to set for 20+ minutes.  I threw mine together and then let it set while I was at the gym – probably a total of about an hour or a little more.  You could even let them set overnight and have a ready made breakfast.
  • Enjoy!

Super easy, super quick and tasty!  If you appreciate the gel-like texture of moist chia seeds and you like pumpkin – then you will love this pudding! I know there are many variations of chia pudding all over the place, and you can sub in and out ingredients to make whatever variation you want! I have yet to see pumpkin although I’m sure it’s out there somewhere.

I am still loving my fall table arrangement, and as excited as I am to switch it to Christmas, I’m kind of sad to say goodbye.  Not too sad though!  Nothing keeps me from being over the top happy for the Christmas season! Now if only it wasn’t still 80 degrees outside, I’d really be getting into the holiday spirit:) The fact that Walmart has already put up a giant Christmas tree in the front entrance is helping a little bit.

Hope the beginning to your week has been lovely!

Are you saying bring it on to the Christmas season?  Or are you clinging to the last days of fall?

Also, do you eat something before your workout?  If so, what works for you?

22 Responses to “sweet pumpkin chia pudding”

  1. sarah November 8, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    Sooooo excited to see you tried a recipe!!!! Your pictures look delicious…I will be trying this one once I get some maple syrup!!
    Ill be sure to post some pictures when I do!!

    XX
    @healthymodel

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) November 9, 2010 at 7:20 am #

    I am fine with Christmas, just not the colder weather. What I eat depends on what the workout will be and how long it’ll be. So it changes for me.

    • candice November 9, 2010 at 11:23 am #

      I know what you mean. I love colder weather in theory and I always wish for it to come, but then when it gets here it’s pretty miserable! I guess I just like the idea of it. Oh, and I like it as long as I can be inside:)

  3. Dorry November 9, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Your pudding looks great! We must be on the same wavelength with our bread making last week and now this pudding…I’m reviewing a raw food cookbook and plan to make a raw version of chia pudding this week. 🙂

    • candice November 9, 2010 at 11:24 am #

      How random! Great minds think alike, right? Can’t wait to see your recipe:) And I’d love to hear your thoughts on raw food and the raw cookbook.

  4. Holly @ couchpotatoathlete November 9, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    I’ve never made chia pudding either — my favorite pudding is an avocado blended with some cocoa powder, agave, vanilla and brown sugar 🙂

    • candice November 9, 2010 at 11:24 am #

      I’ve heard of this, but never made it before! I think I might have to try it soon – it sounds delicious!

      • Holly @ couchpotatoathlete November 9, 2010 at 11:47 am #

        Google “Choco-cado pudding” — you can see a recipe on Fitnessista’s page or Oh She Glows. It tastes really good!

      • candice November 9, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

        awesome, thanks!

  5. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com November 9, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    cha-cha-cha-CHIA! well its no wonder u added it in, given the name of ur blog ❤
    love the chia pudding!!

    i say bring on the holidays while still maintaining fall and autumn leaves. a combo of the two is my perfect balance ❤

    • candice November 9, 2010 at 11:25 am #

      Yes, that would be a perfect combination!

  6. Rhea November 9, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    That pudding sounds so good, but it would be even better with the Pumpkin Spice Silk (seasonal fave) swapped in for regular soymilk! Mmmm.

    • candice November 9, 2010 at 11:25 am #

      Pumpkin Spice Silk? Have not heard of this, but must find it asap! Do you drink it? Or just use it in stuff?

  7. Bekah @ runtrackmind November 9, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    I am not ready to start thinking about Christmas just yet. It is way to early in my mind to be seeing stores all decorated and for radio stations to be playing Christmas carols, seriously. It seems like it all gets started sooner and sooner.

    I am not a big eater before a workout unless I am going out for a 10+mile run which I would then eat toast, almond butter and 1/2 banana about an hour before I head out. That usually does the trick.

    • candice November 9, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

      Love that meal before long runs!!

  8. Sarah November 9, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    Mmmm…that pudding looks delicious!

    I am never excited for Christmas now that I live in Australia. I still haven’t acclimated to the summer holiday, so it never really FEELS like Christmas. While I love my new tradition – going to the beach and eating a (vegan) BBQ’d meal – it still doesn’t really feel like Christmas. But I am grateful for the fact that I have my husband’s family to celebrate it with. Even though I’m not a big fan of the holiday in general, I think Christmas would be quite lonely if I had to be in another hemisphere from all my family, and didn’t have a place to visit on the day.

    • candice November 9, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

      I totally know what you mean. We lived in Thailand for a year in 2008, and that Christmas was kind of hard! We still laugh remembering driving to the post office at 8am in shorts and tank tops to see if packages from our family had arrived. Sadly, it hadn’t:( The weather definitely plays a big role in the whole feeling of Christmas.

      I’m sure having your husband’s family there does help, though! It’s all about who you’re with and not where you are, right? 🙂

  9. Laura @ Backstage Pass to Health & Happiness November 9, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    Ooh, your chia pudding looks delicious. I really like their texture and bet that I’d love this recipe 🙂
    I am definitely clinging to fall right now… plus, it was 60 in Milwaukee today, a temperature that’s pretty much unheard of for this time of year!
    Once we get closer to Thanksgiving, I’ll start getting excited for the winter holidays. This year will be our first with a real Christmas tree, and I cannot WAIT for that!

  10. salah@myhealthiestlifestyle November 11, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    omg amazing!!! I want to try this sooo bad!!!

    • candice November 11, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

      you should! Make sure and tell me what you think if you do!

  11. Aimee May 16, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    This sounds interesting! I have been looking for a way to use chia seeds, and I love pumpkin so this might have to happen soon. 🙂

  12. Khadijah February 10, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    This was so delish! I used pureed kabocha squash and only needed about 1/2 T of maple syrup. This was by far the best chia pudding I have had. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

