roll with it

9 Nov

Hello.

Even though Tuesday’s are my favorite day of the week, today has been kind of a stick in the mud.  There is just a lot going on and a lot of things the husband and I are thinking through right now…but one thing I’m thankful for is that we get to do it together.

So, instead of talking about the less than stellar parts of the day, let’s talk about the highlights!

I made it to the gym this morning in time to lift a few weights (today was arms) and get in a 35 minute workout on the treadmill.  I did a little incline walking, non-incline speed walking and running.  And then I came home and had an cold and creamy green smoothie.

For some reason green smoothies have been missing from my life lately, and I’m not sure why.  But today I got a serious craving, and it really hit the spot.  Refreshing.

A few hours later the husband surprised me with a lunch date at “the bread place.”ahhhhh.

This sandwich was stacked with lettuce, tomato, onion, pickles, cucumbers, sprouts and pesto.  One of those kinds of meals that you finish and then wish you could relive every. single. bite.

Or is that just me?

Anyway.

Do you ever have those nights when dinner just doesn’t seem to come together very well?  For every meal you think of to fix, there is some reason why you can’t make it happen.  You’re out of hummus.  Or the bread is molded.  Or you forgot to pick up that green pepper at the store.

Or you char your kale chips to a crispy black.

Whoops.

The kitchen was quickly filling with smoke, so I snatched the baking sheet out of the oven and raced it out onto the back deck.  Suddenly have no idea why I was standing outside in the cold, barefoot with a smoking hot sheet of blackened kale in my hand, I balanced it on the deck railing and hightailed it back inside!

Whew!

And now, 3 hours later, I’m remembering that I never went back out to retrieve it.  Our neighbors must think we are so weird.

Anyway, so dinner ending up looking like this.

roasted potato rounds, corn, steamed broccoli and steamed green beans

This meal was seriously lacking in protein, but by this point I really could have cared less.  Sometimes you just gotta roll with it.

What did you have for dinner tonight? Let’s hear it!

9 Responses to “roll with it”

  1. Amy B @ Second City Randomness November 10, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    he he he… I just had a peanut butter sandwich for dinner. Because that’s what I was craving. I didn’t bother coming up with something else and just rolled with it… 🙂

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) November 10, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    Oh yes, definitely have days like that where you just gotta roll with it. My dinner was straight up leftover soup with some homemade bread.

  3. Dorry November 10, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    Sometimes my dinners are totally random and don’t go as planned…or I just can’t figure out what to eat. I usually turn to beans or lentils in those moments! Last night, I had a black bean burrito. Quick and easy.

    • candice November 11, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

      So glad I’m not the only one! All too often dinnertime comes, and I just can’t decide on anything. I need to keep a list of quick and easy meals to turn to in times like this. A black bean burrito sounds like a perfect pick:)

  4. amber@SAHM's musings November 10, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    last night I had a hankering for Thanksgiving fair so I made chicken, dressing and green beans!

    • candice November 11, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

      How fun! An early Thanksgiving:)

  5. Brandi Murphy November 10, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    I had…pickles galore. I love them. I am an official pickle addict. (Also love them extra since I’m successfully doing Weight Watchers and pickles are zero WW points!)I also had some homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. I had some Wasa crackers and jalapeno laughing cow cheese too. You know just to balance out my grazing 😉

    • candice November 11, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

      What kind of pickles do you eat mostly? Just dills? I used to do Weight Watches – gotta love zero point foods for sure!

      • Brandi Murphy November 12, 2010 at 11:59 am #

        Dill, the only kind I like, I don’t even really like pickle relish, too sweet.

Leave a Reply

