no place like home

16 Nov

I’m now back from a 3 day hiatus.

Over the weekend, the husband and I got to visit our family in his hometown.  We always love spending time there; I may be a little biased I suppose, but I’m certain that I have the best in-laws on the planet.  Here are a few photos of our little weekend getaway.

They are so thoughtful to always make sure that my favorite foods are in the house.  I always think it’s so sweet that they do that because these are not things they would normally have.

Breakfast Saturday morning – Ezekiel bread with almond butter and sliced banana

Playtime in the backyard:)  Olive is the only grandchild so far, so she gets a LOT of attention.  I worry about the day she’s no longer the only one…she will be a sad baby dog:(

ready….set….

GO!

One thing I love about visiting our family is that, like us, they love to hop in the car and just drive around, ending up wherever the days takes us.  On Saturday it took us to a cemetery in this tiny little country town. Don’t even ask:)

trying to see her Grandpa

And then dinner.  The family had spaghetti with meatballs, my MIL’s specialty.  I fixed up a giant pan of seasoned and roasted chickpeas, sweet potato, carrots and squash.  Easy and delicious.

And as usual, the day ended with a great round of game-playing

On Sunday we went to church to hear my FIL preach and then sadly, we had to rush to get back on the road toward home.  I never want to leave when we visit, but this week the sadness was softened just a little bit because I was so excited about what we were headed home to do!

More on that later:)

Hope you all had a great weekend!!

14 Responses to “no place like home”

  1. Joslyn @ missfitbliss.com November 16, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Oh how I love your weekend recaps! Especially when Olive is involved. She is the sweetest little munchkin ever. Her face when she’s dashing toward the camera is priceless;)

    • candice November 17, 2010 at 8:16 am #

      Aw, thanks:) Yeah, she’d kill me if she knew I posted that pic;)

      • kate November 17, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

        Haha!

  2. amber@SAHM's musings November 16, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

    Two cheers for great in-laws! I like mine too 🙂 Looks like a wonderful weekend as far as I’m concerned especially when there’s scrabble involved!

    • candice November 17, 2010 at 8:17 am #

      We are very blessed methinks:) And we love Scrabble too – the game in the picture is a spin off Scrabble called Bananagrams. Have you played it? It’s a little faster paced than Scrabble and so fun!

  3. debbie November 16, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    thanks for the kudos…we love having you here

    • candice November 17, 2010 at 8:20 am #

      Wish we could come more often – we’re already looking so forward to McCoy Christmas. Also, thanks for sending the charger – we got it yesterday. Sorry you had to do that! We really appreciated it:)

  4. sarah@sarahnotsoplainandtall November 16, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    awwww I hope one day I have in-laws that stock the fridge with my healthy staples! Too cute!

    • candice November 17, 2010 at 8:18 am #

      I’m sure you will! 🙂

  5. Erin November 17, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Those pictures of Olive just make me want to snatch her up. 😉 I love a good recap post. Welcome back!

    • candice November 18, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

      Thanks Erin! And thanks for stopping by…I remember you from HLS – wish we could have hung out!

  6. Paige @ Running Around Normal November 22, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    I want Olive!! Niko has that exact same squeaky toy. Isn’t it the loudest?! lol
    Glad you had such a good weekend:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. hey-kyoung and jinsel|ChiaSeedMe - November 17, 2010

    […] yesterday when I mentioned that I had something exciting to come home to on Sunday […]

  2. 2010: a look back part II|ChiaSeedMe - January 4, 2011

    […] November I made my very first loaf of homemade bread, we visited mom and dad McCoy for the weekend, I took pictures of my Korean student and her little girl, all of Jonathan’s […]

Leave a Reply

