thankful

23 Nov

Only one day left until Thanksgiving – I can hardly believe it! I am so looking forward to spending time with family over the next few days.  We’ll be leaving tomorrow afternoon, heading to my hometown for all kinds of fun.  I’m so thankful that I have a home and family to spend time with.  In fact, I have two!

Something I’m really feeling so thankful for this year is that I have my grandparents to go home to.  My grandma and grandpa will cook Thanksgiving dinner at their house on Thursday, just like they have every single year since before I can remember.  And I feel so blessed to be able to spend time with them.

This morning when I got up, I really was not feeling a workout at all.  I just felt like I had zero energy…but I decided that if I just made myself go, I’d get more energized once I got there.  Works every time.

Until today.

I felt completely drained the entire time, and it was all I could do to keep myself going from machine to machine.  I ended up putting in about 40 minutes on the treadmill – a combination of walking, speed walking, jogging, running and pretty much everything in between.  It wasn’t super intense, but I was moving!!

Unlike most days, I ate some breakfast before I went because I was starving from the second I woke up.  I knew that oatmeal was in the cards, and in the end I decided to keep it simple.  I love putting tons of different toppings on my oats, but sometimes it’s nice to just get back to the basics.

I cooked 1/2 cup of oatmeal in 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk for about 2 minutes.  Actually, I cooked it for 1 minute and 50 seconds, and then the oatmeal overflowed out of the bowl and all over my microwave.  oops!  I seriously hate it when that happens!

Anyway, after getting everything cleaned up, I just stirred in about 1 tbsp of pumpkin butter and then put a little dollop on top.  It was so simple tasting…and delicious!

I spent the rest of today doing laundry and working on preparing the photos I took for a family last weekend.  Here is a little glimpse of two of the cutest little baby boys ever:)

Tomorrow is going to be a busy one, trying to get ready to go!  I think I know what I’m taking as far as food, but I still need to work out a few more details before I share.  Other than that I just have to pack, tutor and get some Outbox work done.  And then we’ll be off!  yay!

What are your plans for the holiday?  What special dishes are you making?

11 Responses to “thankful”

  1. Amy B @ Second City Randomness November 24, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    Oatmeal is always so tricky!

    I’m going with my friend to her in-laws. Sure, it sounds weird, but since I’ve been up here, this family has been over-the-top wonderful to me. I appreciate them very much and was honored to be asked to join them! 🙂

  2. Michal November 24, 2010 at 6:53 am #

    Love, LOVE the pictures! I can hardly wait to get my hands on the cd and print. You did a fabulous job, and we SO appreciate it!

  3. Rhea November 24, 2010 at 7:14 am #

    Those babies are so cute! Is it wrong that I wish they made that blue sweater in my size?

    Also, this: “This morning when I got up, I really was not feeling a workout at all. I just felt like I had zero energy…but I decided that if I just made myself go, I’d get more energized once I got there. Works every time.” SO TRUE. On those days, I like to (as my roommate says) Band-Aid it: just get it over with!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you 🙂

  4. Heather (Where's the Beach) November 24, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    Sounds like it maybe should have been a rest day? I hate those days when you just can’t seem to get it all to fall into place. Hope you guys have safe travels!

  5. Dorry November 24, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    I hope you have a wonderful time with your family at your grandparents – how cool that you get to spend time with them. I’m making a couple of vegan dishes to bring to my sisters – a roasted veggie/quinoa and lentil/green bean salad. And baking something with pumpkin but still choosing between a couple of recipes.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. Lizz @ Leading the Good Life November 27, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    Again, gorgeous photos! The lighting is beautiful and those yellow leaves are so brilliant! Not to mention some adorable babies. 🙂

  7. salah@myhealthiestlifestyle November 27, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    Oh my gosh!!!! Those pictures are absolutely adorable!!!!!

  8. Paige @ Running Around Normal November 27, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    Oh my goodness. Those boys are the cutest ever. They could be models!!

  9. Stephanee November 29, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    Hello, I’ve been following your blog for a little while. Oatmeal is a regular breakfast for me and I actually just had the pleasure of making pumpkin butter! They sound like an outstanding combination!

    Happy late Thanksgiving!

    • candice December 1, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

      Aw, thanks for reading my blog. And thanks for dropping a line to say hi!

      Oats and pumpkin butter are definitely a heavenly combination – I’d love to see what kind of oat creations you eat!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010: a look back part II|ChiaSeedMe - January 4, 2011

    […] hard work payed off when his design debuted at the Route66 Marathon (here and here), and I took more pictures – this time of the family I used to nanny […]

Leave a Reply

