cheesy noodle dish + blog reading tips

2 Dec

Hi!

This morning Jon and I hit the gym a little late, so I did a really quick interval run.  Sometimes it’s hard for me to get the motivation to kill it on the treadmill, but when I do it’s nice because I get done so much faster and I feel so good!  Unfortunately I didn’t have time for weights or ab work, but later I did spend some time running through my PiYo class for this week.

I also spent some time catching up on some of my favorite blogs over breakfast!

1/3 cup oats, handful of frozen blackberries, 1 tbsp chia seeds cooked in 3/4 cup water for 2 minutes.  Add a couple spoonfuls of soy yogurt and another sprinkle of chias (just for fun:) = best oatmeal ever. creamy. thick. delish.

I hate when I get behind and I feel like I don’t know what’s going on with everyone.  This morning was like catching up with friends…I love all my blog friends:)

One thing I’ve been having a hard time with lately, though, is time.  No matter how bad I want to catch up and comment on everybody’s blogs, I just don’t have enough time.  I can sit for an hour at some point in the day, reading and commenting, and still feel like I’ve only gotten through about half, which for me is about 15 or so. I just feel like I don’t have much more time than that to give to it, especially by the time I post on my own.

I feel like I see so many bloggers who comment on tons of blogs, and I just don’t see how they have time to do it.  Is there a secret that I don’t know about? I use google reader, but by the time I click out of it to comment, I’m not sure how much time it really saves.  What gives?

I’m hoping I’ll get some tips from some of you on how to read and comment on more blogs in less time!

Moving on.

For lunch today I made one of my favorite meals, but in about 1/4 of the time it took me to make it last time!

Cheesy “noodles” and brussel sprouts

Instead of cooking the spaghetti squash in the oven, I poked holes in it with a fork and put it in the microwave for about 12 minutes.  When I took it out, it was just the right amount of softness and I sliced it open with ease. In less than 2 minutes, I had cleaned out the seeds and then scraped out the “spaghetti” strands into a bowl.

this is what it looks like after being cooked and cut in half

and after separating out the strands

While preparing the squash, I placed a bowl of halved brussel sprouts in the microwave with just a little bit of water for about 1 minute and 30 seconds.

Next, I mixed together 1 tbsp nutritional yeast, 2 tbsp hummus and about 1.5 tbsp water.  I whisked it until it had a smooth consistency.  Last, I combined about a cup of spaghetti squash and 1/2 cup of brussel spouts before pouring the sauce over top and mixing it all up.

I added a dash of black pepper and ground red pepper for some kick!

Delicious!  This is one of my favorite meals.  The credit does not go to me though – I think I originally saw this idea on Heather’s blog, and I think Gena actually came up with the sauce idea.  I know some of you may think it sounds like a crazy idea for a recipe…when I took this to work for lunch last year, my coworkers thought I had lost my mind.  Try it before you knock it though.  It honestly tastes like a big bowl of creamy, cheesy pasta!  Added bonus: it took me less than 15 minutes to make, and it heats up well too if you’re looking for lunch to take to work.

I know some people have a problem with using microwaves.  Honestly, I haven’t done enough research to voice an opinion, but I try to choose my battles.  And right now, that’s one I’m going to choose not to worry about.  If I had more time, I would just cook the squash in the oven, but on days like today I’d rather have microwaved spaghetti squash than none at all!

I’m off to meet a new tutoring student.  This is my first student who is not an adult – he’s a fourth grader!  I’m not used to this, so I’m crossing my fingers it’ll go well.  Hope you all are having a great day!

20 Responses to “cheesy noodle dish + blog reading tips”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) December 2, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    I have yet to try the hummus/nutritional yeast combo yet. I think I kept seeing it called hummnut for a while. Love the idea of just nuking the spaghetti squash! Brilliant. As for keeping up….I cheat big time and sneak on blogs at work. I know that probably sounds horrible like I’m a huge slacker or something. But I always get my work done. This is like my “smoke” break.

    • candice December 3, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

      Oh, you must try it! It’s so good…and yes, I think it is called humnut.

      And trust me, the last thing I think you are is a slacker:)

      smoke break…haha.

  2. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition December 2, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    I can’t wait to try spaggetti squash when I have a kitchen again. 🙂
    As for the blog reading issue, a while back I found myself with the same problem.
    First I cut out some of the blogs I found myself skimming everyday. I wasn’t giving them the attention anyways, so that helped. And as far as commenting goes, well I try really hard to comment regularly but I figure stopping by to read without leaving a comment is better than not reading at all. It helps save a bit of time.
    Good for you for squeezing in a workout this morning. I feel the same way about the treadmill. It is such a mental thing.

    • candice December 3, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

      Glad I’m not the only one with this problem. And I totally agree – stopping by to read and not commenting is better than not stopping by at all!

  3. Amanda @ Vegacious December 2, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    As far as reading blogs….I have some that I read every post and some that I read every now and then. AND, you should get the “next” button (to use on your bookmarks bar) from Reader. It has saved me tons of time and I couldn’t be happier with it! In Reader, go to Reader Settings (top right), then click the tab Goodies. You’ll find it there. There is also a nifty “subscribe” button that I like. Basically, the “next” button eliminates reading the blogs in reader, and takes you directly to the blog! If you can’t make sense of this, let me know and I would be glad to help a sister out! 😀

    • candice December 3, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

      I am definitely going to check out this “next” button. Sounds like a great solution! Thanks for taking the time to explain it…I may be asking you questions, but for now I think I understand:) Hope you’re having a great day, Amanda!

  4. Susan December 2, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    I don’t read or comment on every single post by every single blogger I follow. I don’t think 24 hours in one day would even be enough!

    What I usually do is pick and choose posts in my Google Reader or Twitter feed that sound interesting and read them. I only comment on the ones that I want to insert my voice on. But sometimes it’s just to drop in and say hi to my bloggie friends 😉

    • candice December 3, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

      Great ideas. I probably need to just release some of the pressure off myself of always commenting. Even though I would like to, it’s just not realistic! Glad to know I’m not the only one:)

  5. Paige @ Running Around Normal December 2, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    Oh my goodness that looks great!
    *listens for blog reading tips*

    • candice December 3, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

      🙂 there have been some good ones!

  6. Laura @ Backstage Pass December 2, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    I love blog reading as well… it really is like catching up with friends.
    I struggle with keeping up on everyone’s blogs as well… I make a full round at least once a week and each time I do, I find a few more I should read! I don’t use Google Reader, though. I have a list on my bookmarks and manually go through.

    • candice December 3, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

      Glad to know I’m not the only one – sometimes I feel like other people just have more time in their day or something…but I know that’s crazy:)

  7. Anna December 2, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    I agree with Amanda. I wasn’t into Google reader until I found out about the next button and I know love it! It is so much easier to breeze through the different blogs I read and then post directly on the site.

    I don’t think I have ever had spaghetti squash before but I am intrigued.

    • candice December 3, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

      So excited to check out this next button! sounds so much easier!

      You should definitely try spaghetti squash…it’s the bomb.

      Did I really just say that? 🙂

  8. Lizz @ Leading the Good Life December 2, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    That looks great! I love the idea of using hummus like a ‘sauce’.

    When I started getting overwhelmed by blogs, I did like Jennifer mentioned above and cut out the ones I was just ‘skimming’. I was surprised to realize that some of the blogs I was reading were putting me in a bad mood. I guess I had just been reading them out of habit and didn’t realize I wasn’t interested in them anymore.

    But I know what you mean…there just is not enough time for everything I want to do!

    • candice December 3, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

      Hummus as anything pretty much rocks:)

      I know exactly what you mean about suddenly realizing some blogs put you in a bad mood – I’ve had that same thing happen! It’s sad, but there definitely isn’t time in the day to read stuff that isn’t uplifting or encouraging in some way.

      Glad I’m not the only one who feels like there just is never enough time:)

  9. Sarah@Gluten-free tries Vegan December 3, 2010 at 2:01 am #

    Lovely, wonderful Candice. How I have missed you!

    Sorry I’ve been off the radar for a while too. It’s been some of the toughest 3 months for a long time and I’ve had to put blogging further down my priority list whilst I figure a few things out.

    Hope you’re well. xxx

    I have no idea how people keep up with all the great blogs in the blog world! 🙂

    xxx

    • candice December 3, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

      Your comment totally brightened my day!

      Sorry to hear that things have been tough. It’s usually during the tough times that we grow and learn so much about ourselves, so I hope you’re seeing positive things come out of this. Just hang in there! This too shall pass:)

      I miss you too, and I think you’re awesome!

  10. J. Roger December 3, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    I just found your site and I love it because I love chia seeds too and I’ve been looking for some new recipes. These dishes look delicious! Out of curiosity, where do you buy your chia seeds?? None of the stores around me seel it so I buy it online at thechiaseed.com but I am always looking for new places to try. I’ve been buying from them for 2 years now because they ship for free and sell it in pound and a half bags so one order lasts me about a month which is great. Anyway, thanks for this great site!

    • candice December 3, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

      So glad you stopped by! I buy my chia seeds from chiaseedsdirect.com or herbco.com. I think they both have great prices and service! Hope you’ll come back to visit:) Happy to hear from another chia seed lover!

Leave a Reply

