2010: a look back part II

4 Jan

It’s time for part two of my epicly long recap post! Part I is here.

I really wanted to recap the year primarily so in the future I can look back at what all happened during the year twenty ten, but it turns out there is another huge bonus to spending hours going back through posts from this year.  It was so good for me to go back and re-live all the major events and circumstances that led me to where I am now.  I was reminded of my goals and dreams and the reasons why I made the decisions I did; I’m now left with a fresh excitement to keep chasing after all the things I want for my life.

So let’s get back to it!

September 2010 started out on a contemplative note as I talked about learning to trust myself and live in the moment, enjoying where I am in life right now.  A week later we celebrated Labor Day with a spur-of-the-moment trip to Tulsa, stopping to see my brother-in-law and sister-in-law and then paying a visit to Whole Foods.

The biggest event in September was all about yoga – I drove to Dallas and spent two days getting certified as a yoga instructor and then I taught my first class.  Success!!

A not so great highlight of September, but definitely a big issue that came about this year was the problems I began having with my skin.  I decided to clean up my diet even more plus implement several other strategies to try and get it to clear up.  While my skin didn’t miraculously heal, the changes brought more energy and satisfaction to my every day life.

And then in the middle of September, things started looking up when I entered the Foodbuzz Project Food Blog competition.  I had so much fun thoughout the month, stretching and challenging myself in new ways.  I made it to rounds one, two and three before getting cut, which was way farther than I ever thought I would make it!  I also picked up one more student named Nada for tutoring, and began meeting with her three times a week, and we (grudgingly) put our Mini Cooper up for sale (still hasn’t sold!).

September ended with a long roadtrip to Iowa (part II, part III) for a wedding that Jon was in.  We got to spend great time with friends, eat lots of good food and see some site along the way.

With the beginning of October we welcomed my favorite season with open arms, I talked about finding contentment, we lived through our first earthquake and we went to my hometown and celebrated my mom’s birthday.

Later in the month we got the chance to travel to the nation’s capital (part II, part III, part IV) where (when Jon wasn’t in meetings) we explored the district, did lots of walking, ate cupcakes and I got to meet Emily!

And we ended the month by attending a Halloween party with our friends from Sunday School and dressing Olive up as a bumblebee.

In November I made my very first loaf of homemade bread, we visited mom and dad McCoy for the weekend, I took pictures of my Korean student and her little girl, all of Jonathan’s hard work payed off when his design debuted at the Route66 Marathon (here and here), and I took more pictures – this time of the family I used to nanny for.

And lastly, we celebrated Thanksgiving, my Grandma’s birthday and my sister’s birthday by going to my hometown and spending time with the family.

And to round out the year, we spent December doing lots of Christmas shopping and looking at lights, celebrating my two-year anniversary as a vegetarian, wrapping gifts, baking lots and lots of cookies and celebrated Christmas at the McCoys.

We also got to have Jonathan’s team from work over for a Christmas party, wished all our friends and family Merry Christmas with a Christmas card, baked and cooked up a storm, celebrated Christmas yet again with my family, ate dinner and visited with my Grandma and Grandpa and roadtripped down to south Texas to see our extended McCoy family for several days.

On the way back home from Texas we stopped for a night in Dallas and stayed at our one of our favorite hotels before rushing back home to welcome the newest member of our family!

2010 has definitely been a year full of everything that the husband and I value – family, travel, each other – and it’s been so full of possibility! We’re so thankful for everything God has blessed us with this year.  Here’s to 2011 being even sweeter.

Happy Twenty Eleven!

9 Responses to “2010: a look back part II”

  1. Amy B @ Second City Randomness January 4, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    I loved reading your Food Buzz entries! (and kept pushing for you to make it just *one more* round!)

    • candice January 5, 2011 at 12:19 am #

      aw, thanks for the support! It was fun, but also stressful of course. I’m not sure how some people competed for three months. I guess it was worth it though!

  2. Dorry January 4, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Y’all had a great, busy year with a lot of family fun and traveling! I love you new blog design. It looks great!

    • candice January 5, 2011 at 12:20 am #

      Thanks, Dorry! I needed a fresh look:)

  3. salah@myhealthiestlifestyle January 4, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Girl!! You are so gorgeous!!! I wish I could pull off a little pixie cut like you!

  4. Heather (Where's the Beach) January 4, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    I love all the pictures and the recap. You really have inspired me in so many ways to live fuller – make each moment count and do those things I keep “wanting” to do, keep talking about doing.

    • candice January 5, 2011 at 12:20 am #

      This is the sweetest comment. Thanks:)

  5. Marissa January 5, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Good for you! I don’t know if it is the fact that I am 21 weeks pregnant, but I cried putting the tree away! I think I need to take a page out of your book and do some house and mental de-cluttering!

    • candice January 5, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

      How sweet that you cried! Buy yourself some flowers…I promise they’ll ease the pain of the tree:) Plus you deserve some if you’re 21 weeks pregnant!

Leave a Reply

