bringing in a little warmth

5 Jan

If you all are anything like me, you may have felt a little sadness in letting go of the Christmas season.

It inevitably happens every January.  The tree is taken down, candy canes are placed on the clearance rack, the lights are stashed in the closet for another year and the Christmas music is turned off.  The season of festivities is over and it’s back to the daily grind for another year.

I always get into sort of a rut, feeling more than ever the dreariness of the cold, leafless streets.  I’m past the initial excitement of a new year of possibilities and am in need of change, refreshment and a little bit of inspiration.

So this year I decided to get a one up on the January blues. Starting in my favorite place.

The kitchen.  Getting rid of the clutter, consolidating the 4 canisters of cinnamon that have taken up residence in my cabinet over the past 6 months, and vacuuming out the trail of flour weaving its way around my baking shelf.

it must get worse before it gets…

better

The husband and I spent hours over the weekend, cleaning out every last cabinet, shelf and drawer in the kitchen, getting rid of anything we haven’t used in the past year and re-organizing everything in the most efficient fashion possible.   It’s funny how clearing out the clutter from the house seems to simultaneously de-clutter my head as well.  With every pot that was placed in a new, clean, accessible spot, my thoughts became a little more clear and my motivation gained a little bit of momentum.

After the kitchen, we moved on to the rest of the house.  There hasn’t been time to re-organize every closet and drawer quite yet, but there is a plan for it.  And just scrubbing everything down and sweeping up all the dust and pieces of ribbon leftover from wrapping gifts was so energizing.

Once the cleaning was all done, it was time to bring some life back to the house!

Plants have a way of breathing freshness into a space that feels a bit lifeless.

I gathered up every vase in the house

I also potted some new plants for our office.  I never imagined that the process of potting them would be as helpful as getting to admire them as we work late into the night. Squishing the soil between my fingers pressing it firmly down around the roots almost made me feel like spring had made an early appearance.

Have you started to feel the post-Christmas wintertime blues?  Or are you still riding on the wave of the new year?

What are you doing to bring in a little warmth?

19 Responses to “bringing in a little warmth”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) January 5, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    Oh I sooooo need to clean out the cabinets (ALL of them). Your photos are gorgeous. I definitely need to get some flowers and new house plants.

    • candice January 5, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

      Thanks, Heather! I’m with you on cleaning out ALL the cabinets. It’s so overwhelming, but I’m trying to just take it one at a time:)

  2. Amy B @ Second City Randomness January 5, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    I think I’m one of those crazies who’s not too upset with the holidays being over. One other girl in the blog world said something I kind of liked- December’s so crazy and busy, but January is the time to get things done and you get to start fresh. No excuses, no bs. Clearly you’ve got a head start with the cabinets!

    • candice January 5, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

      That is an awesome perspective and it’s the one thing that is making me happy about January. I love fresh starts!

  3. salah@myhealthiestlifestyle January 5, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    lovely pictures girl!

  4. Kristina @ spabettie January 5, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    ahh, what a great feeling when I clean and organize!

    your photos are GORGEOUS… I am getting a fresh air feeling just looking at them 😀

    • candice January 5, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      Thanks Kristina! It’s always hard for me to get started on the cleaning and organizing, but once I finally start it’s kind of addicting:)

  5. PR_cal January 5, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    Great ideas and love your new layout!

    I’m literally bringing in a little warmth by implementing Soup Sunday. It’s a great way to start working through the recipes I have piling up (all of which seem to be soups and stews as it’s freezing here in Edmonton from Nov. to March!)

    It’ll also help give me something to blog about, as I just launched and feel a little unfocused!

    • candice January 5, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      Thanks!

      Soup Sunday sounds like a fantastic idea. I’m interested to see some of these new recipes. And congrats on starting your blog!

  6. Dorry January 5, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    I feel warm just reading this post! Cleaning, organizing and de-cluttering is one of my favorite things to do. Since Billy and I just moved into our apartment in October, we haven’t had the chance to accumulate too much, but we took down Christmas decorations a couple of days ago and cleaned out the kitchen. We’re going to start a more of a planned meal plan at home next week and I’m excited to get creative in the kitchen.

    • candice January 5, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      Yay for feeling warm! 🙂

      Definitely one of the pluses of moving a lot is never accumulating a lot of stuff. We’ve moved 4 times in 4 years, and I definitely think it has helped us keep the clutter to a minimum. Now that we’ve lived in our house a year and a half, I’m starting to feel it all stacking up.

      I’d love to hear more about your meal plan. I really really need to do that too.

  7. Sarah January 5, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Your posts so often make me smile. You are so good at appreciating the beauty of the little things in life, Candice!

    • candice January 5, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

      That is so sweet, Sarah. Thank you:)

  8. Sarah January 6, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    I hear you on the January blues. I really don’t like January. It’s freezing cold and there’s little to make up for the rubbish weather. Gosh, that makes me sound miserable doesn’t it! 🙂

    I have to say, I love decluttering- it appeals to my OCD side. I even cleared out my friend’s kitchen and sorted his cupboards the other day (he lives on his own and his place lacks the feminine touch). Was so satisfying.

    Hope you’re having a good week x

    • candice January 6, 2011 at 9:41 am #

      How sweet of you:) I can barely get mine done, much less someone elses. I’m sure he really appreciated that!

      And you don’t sound miserable – January just isn’t that great on it’s own! But we shall overcome!! 🙂

  9. Samantha @ Health, Happiness & Skinny Jeans January 6, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    I think I have a little bit of the winter-blues happening. I haven’t felt as motivated lately and I am definitely more tired then usual. I can’t wait for the spring!

    • candice January 6, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      3 months and counting!

      It’s actually weird for me to be feeling like this because I really love winter. Glad to know I’m not alone though! I think things are beginning to look up…just taking some time to get into the new year spirit:)

  10. kelli January 6, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    gorgeous flowers and photos! your home looks lovely.

    no post-christmas blues over here! i actually suffer a little christmas blues, then feel relief when it’s finally over. it’s a magical time of year, but just too much for me.

    january is cozy. a stay indoors and read by the fire/space heater with a cup of something warm month.=)

    • candice January 6, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

      thanks:) You’re not the first to say you’re not having any Christmas blues – good for you! All you January lovers are inspiring me to love it to. I’m loving hearing all the reasons why you love this month:)

Leave a Reply

