happy birthday chiaseedme

12 Jan

Yesterday I mentioned that today would be a very special day in the life of my little blog.

One year ago today, I sat down and wrote my very first post on ChiaSeedMe.

I was beginning my second semester as a first year high school English teacher, commuting two hours every day, and in desperate need of something besides work in my life.  CSM provided that for me; it quickly became the highlight of my days.  With every post I fell more in love with food, writing and photography.  Now I can’t imagine my life without this little space.

One of the questions I’m asked most often about my blog is “why ChiaSeedMe?”

When I started this blog, I had been eating chia seeds for quite some time, and I loved so many things about them.  What’s not to love?  They are high in protein, high in omega 3’s and omega 6’s, help balance blood sugar, help keep you full longer, high in iron and so much more.  But chia seeds themselves aren’t the only reason why I chose the name.

I also chose it because of what chia seeds represent for me.  They’re tiny little seeds, hardly bigger than the tip of a pencil, but they pack a serious punch.  I try to focus my life around the little things that make a big difference, and the words I write here and photos I snap every day have brought to light all the little things in my life that make it what it is.  The way the light filters through the trees in our backyard just at the onset of evening, the way I can see the husband just perfectly through the space between our living room and office, and the softness of our down comforter when I pull it up over my shoulders each night – these little things bring me such joy and are a constant reminder of just how blessed I am to be living this life.

This blog has never been just about what I eat for dinner each night or which workout I choose each morning, although I do love writing about those things.  It’s about this all encompassing idea that this life we live really isn’t just about what we do each day.  It’s about really feeling our experiences.  It’s about seemingly unimportant moments that make a big impact by bringing a smile, focusing on the good, working through the bad and coming out better at the other end.  Moments that embed themselves in the very fabric of our minds and change us forever, one little thing at a time and sometimes without us even realizing it.  I believe these tiny little things matter more than we even understand.

And along the journey of this past year, I’ve gained one of the greatest things I could imagine.  Friendships with other people who not only have the same interests in life, but who are so thoughtful, caring and supportive.  Who reach out with comfort when I’ve quit my job and I’m feeling doubtful or help me decide whether to keep my hair short or grow it long.  And in the midst of it all, I can hardly believe how blessed and thankful I am.

So, thank you for coming alongside me this year.  Thank you for reading.  Without you all, my small corner of the internet would be awfully lonely…serving only as a space to bounce my thoughts into the air and watch them as they fade in the distance.  You are the glue that holds this little blog together.  You give it energy and life, and it truly wouldn’t be the same without you.

As a small way to show you just how thankful I am and to celebrate the first birthday of CSM – there is only one thing I can see fit to do.

Let’s give away some chia seeds!

Monterrey Bay Spice Company is a great source for not only chia seeds, but herbs, spices and teas as well.  They have been a great sponsor for ChiaSeedMe me throughout this year, and have kindly offered to send two readers each a bag of my favorite little seeds.  All you have to do is leave a comment on this post by midnight on Sunday, January 15th to enter!  You can say anything you want…just make yourself known:)

In addition to that, I personally want to do something for you guys as well.  I will choose one more winner from the comments on this post, and you’ll receive a little care package of some of my favorite “little things.”  I’m not telling what will be in it, but I promise it will bring a smile to your face!

Because it’s the little things that matter most.

**Unfortunately, the contest is open to U.S. residents only.  International readers – I don’t love you any less!
**I will choose a winner using random.org.

38 Responses to “happy birthday chiaseedme”

  1. Kristy January 12, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    I love reading your blog!! I especially love that I can stay connected to an old roomie! Thanks for taking the time to post your great ideas and tips.
    I have a Stillwater question for you … can you buy Ezekiel Bread (or other sprouted bread) at Walmart or anywhere else in town? I buy sprouted bread here in Boston, but I’m trying to help a Stillwaterite find it. Thanks!

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

      What a sweet comment Kristy! Thank you:) Next time you come to Stillwater let me know – I would really love to get together and have lunch or something.

      You can buy Ezekiel bread at Food Pyramid or Nature’s Supply (the health food store by the old Walmart). Walmart doesn’t have it though. Food Pyramid is the cheapest place I believe!

  2. Becky January 12, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    Congrats on one year of blogging! Creating a small, meaningful space for yourself (and others) is so liberating. Happy Birthday, CSM!

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

      Thanks Becky – I totally agree! And thanks for reading my blog:)

  3. Amy B @ Second City Randomness January 12, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Congrats on the blog birthday!

    I’m so glad I got to meet you over the summer and am happy I found a new blog to keep up with! Have a great day! 🙂

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

      Thanks, Amy! I feel the exact same way! I feel like I know you much better now (than at HLS), and it would be even more fun if we were roommates again now. Maybe someday!

  4. Salah (My Healthiest LIfestyle) January 12, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Happy 1 year girl!

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

      Thanks, friend!

  5. Samantha @ Health, Happiness & Skinny Jeans January 12, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Happy Birthday to the blog!!

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

      haha, this comment is funny. Thanks, Samantha! And thanks for reading:)

  6. Heather (Where's the Beach) January 12, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Congrats on the blog anniversary girl. I am SO glad you started blogging! You are always such a great inspiration and I cherish your support (by the way, your comments have suddenly been hitting my intensedebate spam and I’m not even notified you commented…booooo).

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

      Thanks, Heather. This comment made my day:)

      I am SO glad I started blogging too! And I’m so glad we’re blog friends….I feel the exact same way about you. Hope you’re spam stops spamming me! That happens to two of my readers as well – drives me crazy!

  7. kelli January 12, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    so sweet! i love you and your blog!

    i’ll sit out this time since i won your chia seed giveaway before.=)

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

      Thanks, Kelli. I’m so thankful for your support and your sweet comments you always leave me.

      No way – you have to at least be in the running for the care package! If you get lucky enough to win twice, then you deserve it:) That’s really sweet of you, though.

  8. Kevin January 12, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Happy, happy chia birthday! I really enjoy reading. You have wonderful insights and a tremendous spirit. Not to mention a love of one of my favorite things – chia seed.

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

      Thanks so much Kevin – what a wonderful, kind comment. And chia seeds are pretty amazing, huh?!

  9. Marissa January 12, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Happy Blog Birthday! And, congrats to you for doing something that led you to some personal fullfillment. As for names for the baby, there is a long list to choose from 🙂 Thanks for asking!

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

      Thank you Marissa! And thanks for reading:) Hope you’re having a great week!

  10. Kristina @ spabettie January 12, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Happy Blog Birthday!! I love visiting you here, and always go away inspired.

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

      Aw, thank you Kristina. I’m so so glad we’ve become friends:)

  11. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition January 12, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Congratulations! It is quite the milestone!

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

      Thank you Jen! And yes, I can hardly believe it’s already been a year – time definitely flies so quickly!

  12. amber@SAHM's musings January 12, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Happy 1 year AnniCHIAversary! Can I be high maintenance and ask to be entered in the secret care pkg giveaway but not the chia seeds? I’m still thoroughly enjoying my chias and if i were lucky enough to win a second time i’d like them to go to someone who hasn’t enjoyed the little crunch of these wondrous seeds. I guess that’s wishful thinking that’d I’d even win LOL!

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

      Thanks, Amber! I appreciate your support and I’m so glad we’ve become friends:)

      Haha…I love fellow high maintenance peeps – it’s really very sweet of you! And yes, only a secret care package for you:)

  13. Dorry January 12, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    Happy Birthday CSM! Very exciting indeed. I’m so glad you blog and so glad I met you at HLS. AND I love chia seeds. They’ve become a staple in my cooking. xoxo

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      Thanks so much Dorry:) And I feel the exact same way – it has been so fun getting to know you in real life and now through your blog. I hope we get to hang out in person again sometime soon!

  14. Halley (Blunder Construction) January 12, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    I love the new look!! I hope you are pleased with it! I’ll admit, I came here to find your vegetarian chili recipe – it’s on the menu tonight 🙂 Happy birthday, Chiaseedme!

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

      I am pleased with it, Halley – thank you! The husband didn’t do a half bad job, eh? 🙂 I’m so glad you’re making the chili…it’s one of my favorite winter recipes. Hope you enjoy it!

  15. Anna January 12, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    Happy blog birthday! I have enjoyed reading your blog since I found it and look forward to reading it whenever I have time. Chia seeds have become a breakfast staple in my overnight oats ^_^

    • candice January 12, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

      Hey, Anna! Thank you for the sweet comment – it put a huge smile on my face. Thanks so much for reading CSM. And I definitely think overnight oats is one of the best places for chia seeds:)

  16. Sarah L.J. January 13, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    Hi Candice! I love reading your blog and actually stumbled upon it right after I had a doctor recommend I add chia seeds into my diet. How ironic, right? 🙂 I love chia seeds! I put the chia seeds in yogurt or oatmeal in the morning and I stay full until lunchtime. My husband, who is not a big fan of my black bean burgers or anything that does not contain meat, will eat chia seeds, too. 🙂

    • candice January 13, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

      That is so random for sure! I love that your doctor recommended chia seeds – I think many doctors don’t even know about chia seeds.

      How fun that your husband will eat them too. My husband cracks me up because he just wants to sprinkle them on everything. Literally everything. Not that I have a problem with that:)

      Thanks for dropping me a line!

  17. reema January 14, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    happy blog birthday 🙂 Chia seeds are one of those “on my to do list” but never bought/tried type things…. I really want to try soaking them in water to make chia pudding!!!

    • candice January 16, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

      Thanks, Reema! I hope you get to try chia seeds soon! It’s a great idea to make chia pudding – I love it! Check out this recipe – it’s one of my favorites! chiaseedme.com/2010/11/08/sweet-pumpkin-chia-pudding/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention happy birthday chiaseedme|Chia Seed Me -- Topsy.com - January 12, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Alonso R. Arellano, Candice. Candice said: so excited to be celebrating 365 days of ChiaSeedMe today – come help me celebrate by entering my giveaways!! http://bit.ly/gfr009 […]

  2. a new chia recipe|Chia Seed Me - January 13, 2011

    […] seeds or a special secret care package of my favorite little things!  You can enter by clicking here or by clicking the button on my side […]

  3. teddy grahams and bar-b-que + giveaway winners|Chia Seed Me - January 17, 2011

    […] Now for a quick change of subject – If you remember, last night was the last chance to enter to win chia seeds or a special care package from yours truly as a celebration of ChiaSeedMe’s first year of life! […]

  4. Pour moi? | Blunder Construction - January 26, 2011

    […] won her 100th blog anniversary giveaway. It was perfect timing for my kitchen to have a win, because I literally ran out of chia seeds the […]

Leave a Reply

