olive

14 Jan

I have to say I do believe we have the funniest little dog there ever was.

Something you may not know about me is that I dreamed of having a Yorkshire Terrier from the first time I ever saw one.  I don’t know if it was their tiny size, their silky silver hair, the fact that they don’t shed or something else, but I was hooked.  I spent many years really truly believing that I would never have one because they’re a little bit costly, so I would just gaze at them from afar when I’d see one while trying to contain my envy.

So, you can imagine my disbelief and excitement when some friends of ours in Thailand asked us to dog sit their yorkie and a friend’s yorkie for a couple of weeks right before we were about to head back to the states.  What luck!

At the point that the husband and I decided we would return to the states instead of staying a second year in Thailand, we started talking about getting a dog.  We’re both dog lovers, and we felt that it was time for us to take on a little more responsibility, a third member of the family if you will.  During our long talks about what kind of dog we would get, we discussed all kinds of different breeds, and it didn’t take long for me to win the husband over to Yorkies as well.  With one stipulation that is.  I had to promise to never, ever, ever…..put a bow in its hair.

While I wasn’t happy about his aversion to bows, obviously it was an easy deal to make.  And so it was decided…a yorkie it would be.

Needless to say, going into our dog sitting days we were so excited because not only would we get to hang out with two yorkies, but we’d also get a taste of what it would be like to become yorkie parents.

Over those two weeks, we fell absolutely in love with Mocha and Lilly.

They were the sweetest, cutest dogs I’d ever met.  They’d follow anywhere we went in the house, and they always wanted to be as close to us as possible.  They were well behaved, they didn’t shed and again, they always wanted to be as close to us as possible.  How sweet is that?

I think we were back in Oklahoma for about a month at most before we started the search.

And then we found her.

She was the one that wanted to lay in the corner, liquid brown eyes staring, too shy to come over and play, but sweet as pie if you picked her up and cuddled her.  Her mom told us that she was holding out on selling her because she wanted to make sure she went to a home that would show her an abundant amount of love and attention.  She was special.

By the way – she doesn’t have glowing blue eyes. Our camera was a little rough at the time.

We were sold.

That same sweet little Olive did the funniest thing yesterday.  Like Mocha and Lilly, she never wants to leave our side when we’re at home.  But now she’s taken it to a whole new level.

I was working at the computer in our office when she trotted in from the living room and hopped up onto my lap.  Just like I always do I started scratching her back and rubbing her little ears.  And then without warning, she stood up, turned toward the computer and jumped up onto the computer desk.  It was the strangest thing she’s ever done.  I just sat there laughing at her, and within the next several minutes she went from this:

to this:

I may be like one of those parents who thinks everything their kid does is SO cute, but seriously?  Does it get cuter than this?

She spent about the next hour assuming all kinds of different positions on all different parts of the desk, dozing off and on as I worked away.

She has brought so much fun, happiness and love into our lives in the last two years…and I honestly can’t imagine our lives without her.

Are you a dog person?  If so, what kind of dog do you have?  Does he/she ever do something completely funny and out of character?  Let’s talk dogs!

Happy Friday:)

**Don’t forget to click over and enter my giveaway!  I’m dreaming up lots of crazy stuff to put in the secret package. muahaha.

23 Responses to “olive”

  1. Salah (My Healthiest LIfestyle) January 14, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    omg your doggies are so adorable!!!

    • candice January 14, 2011 at 10:42 am #

      🙂 Thanks, girl!

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) January 14, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    OMG she’s such a doll. Sounds like she was just meant for you guys!!! And oh yes, definitely a dog person 😉 Each one is so unique and they all have their own personalities. Heath is a clown. Just a total goof. Maddie…is.um.special 😉

    • candice January 14, 2011 at 10:43 am #

      “sounds like she was just meant for you guys”
      I can tell from your comment that you’re a dog lover (even though I already knew that anyway). You totally get me! I always love hearing about your babies:)

  3. amber@SAHM's musings January 14, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Your little Olive is so cute. I was always a {small} dog person growing up. Keep your big dogs b/c they scare me but give me a puppy dog any day. I grew up with a teacup poodle. 4 lbs fully grown. Her name was Chauntae’. I played with her like a doll. Anyway, I married a cat guy and somehow ended up with 2 kitties. Unfortunately our 1st born kitty got out and never returned on New Year’s eve so now we just have Tiger Lily. BTW I think Olive is part kitty 🙂 Josie used to keep me company on my desk. Of course it helped that my desk is right by the windows that overlook the backyard where all the birds and squirrels play.

    • candice January 14, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      Thanks, girl:) So cute that Chauntae’ let you play with her like a doll. Dogs (most anyway) are so sweet. So sorry about your cat getting out – that’s terrible!

      I think you may be right about Olive being part cat – I had never thought of that until you said it. Getting on the desk is such a cat thing to do!

  4. amber@SAHM's musings January 14, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Oh and one more thing…I always wanted a scottie dog when I was little.

    • candice January 14, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      Me too! When I was in high school we got a miniature schnauzer, which sort of looks the same…but I always thought scottie dogs were so cute! I even had a sweater with one on it:) ha

  5. Laura @ Backstage Pass January 14, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    The cuteness in this post is overwhelming! Oh my!
    Olive is so funny. When I work from home, my cat Rufus will do similar things to get my attention, only he will sometimes sit on my laptop keyboard. Not cool!
    I am a total animal lover. We have an Aussie Shepherd mix – Blue – and Rufus the cat is a Maine Coon mix (aka – huge). My boyfriend will often tease me about the sheer volume of our pet photo collection. With every upload, there are at least 30 ‘cute animal’ photos!

  6. Samantha @ Health, Happiness & Skinny Jeans January 14, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    So cute!! I absolutely love dogs! I have a golden retriever but he lives with my boyfriend’s parents so I don’t see him every single day (he bonded with their dogs and he’s so happy there that I let him stay there a lot)He’s the most happy go-lucky dog and he absolutely loves everyone. My favorite part about him is that he sneers when he’s happy/excited. It’s the cutest thing ever!!

    • candice January 14, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

      I love golden retrievers! If we ever get a bigger dog (which I’m sure we will) I would love to have a GR. Yours sounds adorable:)

  7. kelli January 14, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    olive is such a sweetie, and i love her name! yorkie’s are so cute – i didn’t always appreciate them… let’s just say my best friend growing up had a very naughty boy, with a big mouth and VERY sharp claws!

    john and i fell in love with a pomeranian we sat. we’ve thought of adopting one but we’re not sure if biggles will be happy awith sharing the attention. she’s become very needy in her golden years!(but oh so SWEET=)

    • candice January 14, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      Yes, little dogs in general seem to have a bad reputation. I think usually because they bark a lot and are really hyper. The two dogs we dogsat in Thailand and Olive have been nothing like that though – all very calm and very sweet/lovable. Not sure if we just keep getting lucky or what!

      Pomeranians are super cute too – I love their fluffy hair!

  8. Cynthia January 14, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    Those pictures are so adorable! I never realized how much of a dog person I was until I got my dog. She is a springer spaniel and the cutest thing ever. I am constantly taking pictures of her and i think just about everything she does is adorable. Today, she slid on the ice and went down a hill. So cute!

    • candice January 16, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

      Oh, I love Springer Spaniels! They are so cute:)

  9. Jean schalit January 14, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Candice, When my Bob was at the end of his life and we had Hospice care in our home we had an encounter with a little toy poodle. Her name was Lizzie and she belonged to my niece and her family. They have 3 young girl’s and were so busy that Lizzie spent much of her time alone in their house.
    They were trying to find a home for Lizzie and as much as I wanted to have her for Bob it was not possible as our apartment management doe was just with us all the time. No one said anything so I think it was a “God Thing”
    Bob was so happy. Lizzie would stay on the hospital bed for hours. Never making a sound except to let me know when she wanted down to eat or go outside. Bob was so happy to have her beside him. Sometimes when he had his eyes closed I would see him reach for her and with his hand on her he would smile.

    She was at his side when he died and I know that helped him pass over.

    The family took Lizzie back home and got her all groomed and looking good as she sat on my lap at Bob’s memorial.
    Lizzie has since then had a stroke(she was 8 years) and died.
    She will always be a lovely memory for me. We called her “Nurse Lizzie” She truly was a blessing to us.

    Oh, and Lizzie stayed with the family until the end of her life and the family was oh so glad they didn’t give her up.

    Olive is adorable !!!!

    • candice January 16, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

      Hi Jean! Thanks for commenting – and what a wonderful story:)

      It is so neat how special Lizzie was to Bob and the way she was a comfort to him during those final days. Dogs are so sweet and such a wonderful companions. Jon and I both really loved reading this story about Bob…thanks so much for taking the time to share it!

  10. Anna January 14, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    Olive is adorable!

    I love animals but am definitely a dog person. I had a cocker spaniel and a black lab cocker spaniel mix when I was a kid at different times. I loved them both so much. The weirdest thing I remember seeing my dogs do was try to eat a bug. I remember sitting on the front porch with my family watching for over five minutes as my dog tried to catch and eat a bug ^_^

    • candice January 16, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

      I love pretty much any kind of spaniel – the are so darn cute and sweet:)

  11. J January 15, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    Yorkies are the “masters of love and affection.” I’m sure Olive has that down pat.

    • candice January 16, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

      She sure does:) Thanks for stopping by!

  12. Becky January 16, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    What a sweet, sweet pup! I am a total dog person. Although, my Lucy hardly knows she’s a dog. She’s my baby and best bud all at the same time. My mom has a little yorkie and she’s Lucy’s best friend. They always know how to make me smile, even on the roughest of days.

    • candice January 16, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

      Yay for dogs! They have a way of adding joy to our lives for sure:) I bet Lucy and Olive would get along pretty well, too…Olive definitely acts like she has no idea she’s a dog most of the time.

Leave a Reply

