nine years later…

19 Jan

One hot August day in 2002 the husband and I met on a volleyball court about one mile from where I sit right now.

And now, 9 years later we’re leaving our little college town to pursue new things in a new city.

And we’re really excited about it!

It all started back in October when Jonathan was approached with an offer for a job in Oklahoma City.  For the next three months we weighed the options, struggling to come to a final decision.  And then with the new year, everything suddenly became a lot more clear.

We took some time to really think about what our ultimate goal really is for the future.  I know I’ve talked about Outbox from time to time, but Outbox really is where we want our future to be.  Our plan is to hopefully launch our business full time in the next 3-5 years, and we feel confident that Oklahoma City is a much better place to do that than where we currently live – one reason being that it’s much bigger. In addition to that, it is closer to both of our families, which we are really excited about.

Part of what made the decision so difficult is that we really do love our little college town, and we’ve become so connected here and formed so many relationships.  Also, the husband has loved his job for the past five years, and as you know I love what I do as well.  It’s really hard to leave a place that you love and that holds so many memories.  But after about a million conversations of hashing out all the pros and cons, we realized that we can’t just keep holding onto the past because it’s what we know and love.  We believe that sometimes we must leave behind something great in order to achieve something even better.

So, upon arriving home after being gone for the holidays, we finally felt confident in our decision and ready to move forward.  Around the second week in January, the husband gave the final word at his current job, and so began the craziness of the last several weeks.

Fast forward to one week ago today.  We met with our realtor to talk about what needed to be done to our house to get it in shape to sell, and then two days later the sign went up!

The first time I pulled up to our house and saw that sign I cried.

Then I started cleaning.

And it was a good thing I started cleaning because less than twelve hours later we got a call that someone wanted to see it!  So, not only were we babysitting little Jinsol last Saturday, but we were also running around like mad getting our house as clean and as organized as possible in a four hour time span.

Less than 24 hours later, we got our first offer.  Our house had been on the market for 48 hours.  I just about died.  Turning to the husband I said “I don’t think I’m ready for this” and he pulled me to him, nodding in agreement.  We went through about 4 hours of negotiations, signing back and forth four times.  And then at 8:30 pm Sunday night we had just started grocery shopping when my phone rang.  It was our realtor – “we have a deal” she announced.

And again, right there in the middle of the frozen foods section the husband pulled me to him, and we hugged in disbelief.

I honestly still cannot believe we’ve sold our house.  If you had asked me last September where we’d be in six months, there’s no way I would have said anywhere other than right here in our little house.  It’s still beyond surreal, and even though we’re excited we’re in complete shock!

It has been a hard last few days for me.  I’ve loved having a handful of jobs – it keeps things exciting and fresh!  But it’s not fun when you have to quit five times, and every time is just as hard as the time before.  I’ve now told all of my tutoring students except one and yesterday I stopped by and told the manager of the gym where I teach yoga.  Sad times.

But I’m pushing through the sadness of it all, and trying to focus on the future.  We think this will be a great move for us, and I’m really excited for what’s ahead!  We close on our house February 28th, and we’re still looking at options of where to go next.  We are highly considering building a house this time around, and we’ve found a neighborhood we love and even a specific lot that we’re excited about.  If we move forward with it, our house would be completed around mid-June, so it’s just a matter of figuring out where to go between now and then.

I know one thing for sure – life is only going to get more crazy in the coming months!  While I don’t admit it, the husband can vouch for the fact that his wife loves a little spontaneity and excitement.  I hope you’ll continue to follow along in the coming months with me.  I honestly don’t know what they’re going to bring – but I’m trusting that God’s plan is the best plan and we are going to make the very most of it!

Have you moved a lot in your life?  Where’s your favorite place you’ve ever lived?

29 Responses to “nine years later…”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) January 19, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    OMG – Congratulations!!! So excited for you guys. I think this is just awesome. And OKC is only a little over 5 hrs from here….hmmmmm….

    • candice January 19, 2011 at 10:13 am #

      Thanks, Heather!! 5 hours is nothin’….

      I need you to email me your mailing address! I may or may not have a special package with your name on it waiting to be mailed:)

      • Heather (Where's the Beach) January 19, 2011 at 10:44 am #

        I emailed you the other day – I had meant to ask if you got the emails since I hadn’t heard back.

  2. Halley (Blunder Construction) January 19, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    AH!! So exciting!! This must be what you’ve been hinting at recently… very big news! I know there is a ton going on for you now, but I’m sure all these changes will only bring the best!

    • candice January 19, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

      Yes, it is I suppose. I really try not to do the hinting thing, but it’s so hard when something like this is consuming my life – it’s hard to not write about it!

      Thanks so much for the encouragement, Halley:)

  3. sarah@sarahnotsoplainandtall January 19, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    wow how exciting! (and scary at the same time!) I know how daunting moving can seem…but just remember you have lots of memories ahead of you! I have had to move around a lot for my job the past three years, and although theres a lot of work involved…just think of all the fun and exciting new people you will be meeting!! I will for sure be following your journey…we are all always here for support!
    xx
    sarah

    • candice January 19, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

      Aw, thank you Sarah! I really appreciate your support and encouragement:) And thanks for the good moving vibes – sounds like you can definitely identify!

  4. Lizz @ Leading the Good Life January 19, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Oh my goodness, how exciting! Congratulations!!!

    • candice January 19, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

      Thanks, Lizz!

  5. salah@myhealthiestlifestyle January 19, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Thats so exciting girl!!!

    ps. You play volleyball???? I do too 🙂 allt he time!

    • candice January 19, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

      haha, you’re awesome, Salah. To be honest, I probably haven’t played volleyball since that day:( I do really like it…I’m not really sure why I don’t play more!

  6. Malissa January 19, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    Hi Candice,

    This is totally random but I went to OSU and I was in a bible study/friends with your husband. I actually remember meeting you once at one of the Stilly Mexican restaurants. He posted a link to your blog on facebook and I decided to check it out. Congratulations to you both on selling your house so quickly, the new job and opportunities in OKC! I’ll be praying everything falls into place for you.

    • candice January 19, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

      That is random, Malissa! I’m so happy you stopped by and said hi. Thanks so much for the congratulations – you’re so sweet. We appreciate the prayers as well, and Jonathan says hello:) I’ll definitely have to stop by your blog and check it out!

  7. Dorry January 19, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    This is very exciting! I know it’s also very bittersweet for y’all, but I have no doubt the next few months will be an amazing time to learn and grow and take advantage of new opportunities! I’d love to move from Dallas…and we probably will at some point when Billy’s dad’s business is at a manageable state. I’ve moved a lot in my life and one of my favorite things is getting rid of old “Stuff” and redesigning a new home. I think you’ll love that part!

    • candice January 19, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

      Thanks for the good perspective and encouragement, Dorry. You’re absolutely right – the thing I’m looking forward to most is cleaning everything out and starting fresh! We have moved houses four times (this will make 5!) in our 4.5 years of marriage, and I always tell Jon that we’re going to have to keep it up so we don’t accumulate a lot of stuff! And the decorating will definitely be fun:)

  8. amber@SAHM's musings January 19, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! I’m so excited! Maybe we can finally meet 😉 I’ll have to send you a personal email later and share something with you. It may or may not be too long for the comments section. Of course we both seem to like to write long “comments” 🙂

    • candice January 20, 2011 at 12:01 am #

      haha – you’re so funny! I’d love to get to meet finally…it’d be so fun:) Definitely send me an email…I’m so curious now! And yes, we do love our long comments. Long comments are where it’s at!

  9. Samantha @ Health, Happiness & Skinny Jeans January 19, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    How exciting! I am sure this will be a great experience for you both.

    • candice January 20, 2011 at 12:03 am #

      Thanks, Samantha:)

  10. Ely January 19, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    OKC is the place to be 🙂 Exciting stuff!

    • candice January 20, 2011 at 12:02 am #

      haha, yes it is! I can’t wait for us to hang out:)

  11. Laura @ Backstage Pass January 20, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    Congrats, Candice! I know that moving will be bittersweet, but you’ll have the memories of your little house to cherish always. And your beautiful photographs, too 🙂
    Oklahoma City, how exciting! What type of house will you build?

    • candice January 20, 2011 at 10:43 am #

      Hey, girl! Thanks for the congrats and the encouragement:) We will definitely always cherish memories of our first house.

      The floor plan we’re looking at is 3 bed/2 bath, single story. It typically is finished with either brick or stone, but we’re thinking of doing a craftsman style look on it. Still ironing out the final details. Thanks for asking!

  12. Becky January 20, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    I don’t know how I missed this news yesterday, but CONGRATS! It is never easy to make a big decision, but the move will bring great things to your life. It sounds like you have a wonderful network of support. All the best to you during this transition!

    • candice January 24, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      Thanks for the sweet words of encouragement, Becky! It’s a crazy time for sure, I know it’s all for the best in the end:)

  13. Teri January 28, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    WOW! I am so excited for you and know that you certainly are no stranger to change! I think this will be an awesome opportunity for you guys and selfishly, I am glad you will be closer!!!! Maybe we can reconnect!

    • candice January 30, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

      haha, thanks:) Yes, anytime my life wants to stop changing so much I’ll be just fine with it. I’m really glad we’ll be closer too – we’re super excited. Now I’ll have no excuse not to come up and visit, and we’ll have to grab lunch together on a Saturday or something!

  14. Teri January 31, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    Sounds fantastic! When will you move?

    • candice February 7, 2011 at 8:58 am #

      Sorry – just now replying to this! We’re moving out of our house the last weekend in February, but will have to move in with one of our sets of parents until the house is done. So, we won’t actually be living in Edmond until June:(

      Hope you’re enjoying finally being back in school this week!!

Leave a Reply

