thank you

26 Jan

Wow.  Thank you all so much for taking the time to offer encouragement and advice regarding our dilemma from yesterday.  I love how I can always count on you guys for great perspective, and I really appreciate every single one of you so much:)  I love you guys!

The husband and I are still weighing out the options and considering all the input we’ve received.  We have yet to settle on a decision, but I’m just praying that between our considerations and God’s provision, something will work out soon.

Yesterday we spent the day with my mother-in-law; she had to have out-patient surgery, so we went to be there for her and spend some time with my father-in-law at the same time.  Thankfully, her surgery went really well and within several hours she was in the car headed home.  What a relief!

Before we left on the two hour drive to get there, I whipped up a green monster from the book.

5 romaine leaves, 1 cucumber, 1/2 an avocado, 1 banana, 1 scoop Amazing Grass, 1 cup unsweetened almond milk and ice

Unfortunately it was another semi-fail.  I gulped it down just like the day before, but it was not that enjoyable.  I’m honestly not sure what the culprit was this time…maybe the romaine?  Also, I think it was just a bit greener than my usual, so it may take some getting used to.

I also packed some snacks since I knew we’d be on the road most the day.

I brought along carrots and pretzels with a side of salsa, which I ate within the first 20 minutes we were gone.  And later I munched on two brown rice cakes with natural peanut butter and a banana.  One of my favorite things about roadtrips (however short) is eating snacks along the way…especially healthy snacks that make you feel good!

On the way down we also stopped at a deli that I have only been to a couple of times, but that has a pretty incredible salad bar.  I piled up a ton of spinach and mixed greens and then added some dried fruit, walnuts, almonds, onions, bell peppers, peas and a drizzle of honey mustard dressing.  I’m sure there were a few other things I threw on too, but sadly I was so hungry I totally forgot to take a picture!  It was a really beautiful salad.  The restaurant is called Jason’s Deli, and its only about a mile from our soon-to-be house so hopefully I’ll have plenty of opportunities to take pictures of my salads in the future.

After a full day of driving and hanging out with family, we set out on the long drive back home, stopping at Pei Wei in the city to grab some stir fry.  We have eaten Pei Wei in the car so many times in the past couple of months – I’ve completely lost count.  I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of it either!

Lately I’ve been struggling a bit with everything that’s going on.  I’m excited about it all – moving, new job, new house – but at times I let my excitement become overshadowed by all the hard decisions and uncertainties.  Especially the uncertainties.  Remember in January when I decided that my word for the year would be peace?  Well, obviously it’s a very appropriate word with everything going on right now, and I have to be honest…I’m not doing too well at maintaining peace inside.  The last couple of nights have been especially hard.  I’m just worried about what the next few months are going to hold.  I feel like I need to get some sort of job in this time before we move, but I’m not sure who is going to hire me for such a short amount of time.  I’ve thought about subbing at the school, but I’d like to use that as a last resort.  In Duncan (where my in-laws live) it only pays about minimum wage, which if it was something I loved and really wanted to do it wouldn’t be a big deal.  But since it’s not really something I want to do, minimum wage seems a bit discouraging.

I realize that in sharing all this I’m risking appearing to be high maintenance, prideful, discontent or a plethora of other not so great things, but it’s just weighing on my heart and as many of you probably know, it’s very therapeutic to write it all out and process through everything.  I think I’m just going through a phase in my life where I’m trying to figure out what the heck I want to do…I have some leads for sure, but haven’t landed on anything definite yet.  Since I left my job last July, I’ve been actively pursuing, searching and thinking about where I’m headed, but I feel like all of a sudden it’s coming to a screeching halt, and I’m about to waste four months just doing something to make a little money and pass time. I hate the thought of that.

Anyway, sorry to be a debbie downer.  I know that this is all just temporary and that I need to stay positive…but as always it’s easier said than done:)  How sad too – because I promised you guys cupcakes today and instead gave you this.  But tomorrow there will be cupcakes, I promise (for real this time:)!

I hope you’re all having a great Wednesday, and again – thanks for being so great!

Are you or have you ever been in a place where you feel uncertain about the future or about where you’re headed personally? Do you feel happy and content in your career? Or do you have moments where you feel confused and unsure of what you want to do?

8 Responses to “thank you”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) January 26, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Girl you are NOT being a debbie downer. Um, did you see my whining post the other day??? This is nothing 😉 I wish I could say I felt totally happy and content in my career. I’m not exactly miserable was I was in my previous job, but I know it’s not where I’m meant to be in life.

    • candice January 27, 2011 at 9:14 am #

      Thanks for the encouragement:) I know we’ll both eventually find what it is that we want to do with our lives! 😉

  2. Amy B @ Second City Randomness January 26, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    I struggle with it all on a semi-regular basis. I know I’m not in the job I’m meant to be in, but it’s a nice one to have until I figure it out… I just wish it would all be sooner than later!

    • candice January 27, 2011 at 9:15 am #

      I wouldn’t wish for you to feel the same way, but it does feel good to hear that I’m not the only one!

  3. Samantha @ Health, Happiness & Skinny Jeans January 26, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    I think its natural to feel this way from time to time. And don’t apologize for using your blog to express feelings, whatever they may be. If we are here for the good times (aka the cupcakes!!) we are here for the harder times too.

    • candice January 27, 2011 at 9:16 am #

      haha, thanks girl. You’re so sweet:)

  4. Becky January 26, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    I think it’s completely normal to feel a bit weighed down by the uncertainties. While exciting, these periods of transition always feel a little stressful and scary. The unknown is such a source of stress. I’m sure something meaningful will come along for you.

    • candice January 27, 2011 at 9:17 am #

      The unknown kills me sometimes! Glad to know I’m not crazy! Thanks for the encouragement and affirmation:)

Leave a Reply

