random musings on a snow day

2 Feb

As promised, we got quite the snowfall overnight, and today the husband and I both got a snow day!  I love snow days because they’re the perfect excuse to stay home with the husband all day and be lazy get lots of stuff done!  We’ve now found out that we’ll be having another snow day tomorrow.  On my agenda: pack pack pack. We have three weeks left in our house, and I haven’t boxed up one thing.  eek.

Unfortunately I really wasn’t too productive today…but I don’t really feel bad about it.  We slept in about an hour later than usual and then got up and made some amazing breakfast.

I used a whole wheat boxed mix and then spread natural peanut butter on one half and Earth Balance on the other.  Topped with pure maple syrup and banana slices.  So gooooood.

After breakfast we got a little bit of work done in the office and then layered up and spent some time out in the snow!

This was the most snow we’ve had this year by far, and it was so pretty.


Olive is the funniest thing – she isn’t a big fan of the snow and acts like she’s going to die if she has to be in it for more than about 5 seconds.  We took her out with us for about 10 minutes and she was trembling all over in her little coat. Poor baby.  At one point, she and the husband were on the porch and I was out in the yard, so I started calling to her, trying to get her to come to me.  She minds us so well that when I started calling her she kept thinking about coming, but really didn’t want to get in the snow.  Finally I won her over.

She lasted about four seconds.  But it sure was cute.

We spent the rest of the afternoon napping, cuddling, watching movies, eating…and now at 11pm we’re finally getting some work done.  That’s the way we roll I guess.

In other news, I know I talked about this a little bit already, but I’ve decided to try and get a full-time job.  I figure the husband and I could really use the money as we’re moving into our new house, and seeing as how we’re becoming “live-ins” with one of our sets of parents, I don’t think I want to be home all the time!  I’m really struggling with what to do during this transition period.  I really want to keep doing what I’ve been doing – tutoring, yoga, working on the biz – but I think it would be beneficial for me to branch out and try something new (full-time) for awhile.  Once we have little ones, I want to be a stay-at-home mom, so now’s the time if I want to work again.

Some of the ideas so far (some far better than others): zoo worker, Starbucks shift manager, emergency dispatcher, and the one that I’ve actually applied for and am somewhat excited about – supervisor for a children’s program at a hospital.  I’ve also considered going back to teaching, but I really need something right now.

If you guys have any great ideas – send them my way!!

And now for some random thoughts to end the evenings:

  • I am missing Thailand so much lately!  I can’t stop thinking about it.
  • It’s always a bad idea go out in foot deep snow wearing ankle socks
  • Splitting a 1lb bag of peanut m&m’s with your husband over the course of 2 days is not wise
  • Never wait until the night before a snowstorm to hit up Walmart
  • If you are on city water and you lose electricity, you WILL still have water
  • Old houses = cold

I’m off now to get some sleep – my eyes are getting very heavy.  Hope you all had a great Tuesday!

Did you get any snow? What kind of job do you do (if you don’t mind sharing!)?

11 Responses to “random musings on a snow day”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) February 2, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Gorgeous pictures. I would love to get a true snow day like that. I had to laugh at the old houses=cold. Our house was built in 1890. We walk around bundled up all the time. Big fluffy socks are my best friend 😉

    • candice February 2, 2011 at 10:56 am #

      Yes! Big fluffy socks are a must! I am in love with old houses, though. We searched for one in OKC, but couldn’t find one in our price range that was in a good school district:( I bet your house is so cute and charming!

  2. salah@myhealthiestlifestyle February 2, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    omg…those pancakes….I want those! hahaha

  3. Amy B @ Second City Randomness February 2, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Looks like a good snow day to me! We’re currently in the middle of one. So far it’s been exhausting (the digging out the car has been horrible!), but I’m about to join my neighbor friends for some food and drinks and movies!

    • candice February 2, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

      What a bummer! We’re going to have to finally dig out tomorrow, and I’m not looking forward to it. Hope you guys had fun – food, drinks and movies sound like a great reward for all the exhaustion!

  4. Malissa February 2, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Those pancakes look Yum! Since you asked about jobs and you asked about my side business (which was very sweet) I am an interior designer and I work for a furniture dealer so I design a lot of corporate spaces but, I really love residential design so I am renting booth space at a local market. I’m going to sell accessories, pillows I make myself and refurbished furniture. I know you’ll find a great temporary job, have you thought about working somewhere that would help with furnishing your new house or somewhere in the city so you and Jon could commute together?

    • candice February 2, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      How neat, Malissa! I’m so impressed. Don’t you live in Tulsa? We don’t get up that way much, but I’d love to come check out your stuff sometime. I’m hoping to redo some old furniture once we get moved, but honestly I have no clue what I’m doing so we’ll see. haha.

      I have definitely thought about working somewhere in the city so we can commute together. The one place I applied so far is right down the street from him…my fingers are crossed! Also as great suggestion about working someplace that would help me furnish – I’ll have to think about that!

      • Malissa February 3, 2011 at 10:51 am #

        Yep, we live in Tulsa! The market is actually in Downtown Jenks, it is called River City. It is fun to go through because they have everything you could imagine. I don’t know how often you all come to Tulsa, but there is a restaurant called Ri Le that you might like. It is Vietnamese food but the owner is a vegan so they have a pretty extensive vegan and vegetarian section to their menu.

      • candice February 3, 2011 at 11:44 am #

        Awesome! Thanks for the tip – I’ve never heard of that restaurant, but it sounds great. My brother-in-law and sister-in-law live in Jenks, so any time we do make it up to Tulsa we usually end up in that area. Next time we have plans to be there, I’ll have to find out if/when the market will be open, and we’ll have to try and stop by!

  5. Becky February 3, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    I’ve had my fair share of snow days this year. They were really fun at first, but now cabin fever sets in very fast! Olive is adorable in the snow 🙂

    I am a teacher in the local public school system. I love my kiddos!

  6. amber@SAHM'S musings February 3, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    It’s been more like a snow week. I’ve got cabin fever baaaad!

Leave a Reply

