hello, spring

17 Feb

Hey!

What a beautiful week it has been so far – I am loving this weather.  Do you have great weather where you are?  Sorry to rub it in if not.

Yesterday it was so nice that I got a sunburn!  Hello, spring.  I had a break between tutoring appointments, so I decided to sit out on the lawn of our campus library to eat lunch.  Forty-five minutes later my chest was red – glad I had on long sleeves. I’m not sure why campus looks deserted in these pictures, there were people all around me.

greens topped with leftover stir-fry veggies/chickpeas + quinoa + lightly steamed brussel sprouts + tahini dressing

I got to feeling a bit nostalgic sitting there – I’ve spent many days on library lawn from walking to classes in college to long walks with the husband and Olive.  So many good memories. I even buried a baby chicken on that lawn during my freshman year of college.  Don’t ask.

I also got up this morning and went for a 3 mile run outside.  In a tank top and shorts!  I was planning on wearing a jacket, but when I stepped outside I realized it was way too warm for a jacket, so off I went.  It definitely felt like spring and almost like summer.  There was also a nice strong wind, which made for a tough run.  But I made it through with the addition of a few walk breaks.  It was so much more refreshing than the treadmill – my vitamin D levels must be sky high after yesterday and today!

I’m going to have to keep this post short, but I’ll be back soon with a couple of tasty raw meals I’ve been enjoying the last couple of days.  I made them for dinner a couple of nights ago, and even the husband was a huge fan.  Score.  Also coming up soon is another product review!  I love trying out new cooking (or not! – hint) tools, so I’m excited to work with CSN again.  Remember when I reviewed the spiralizer last fall? This time will be similar, but with a new and just as fun product.  If you haven’t checked out CSN sites yet, head over there if you get the chance.  They really do have every item you can imagine…everything from swing sets to…well, spiralizers.  You can’t get much more widespread than that!

With that I’m off to a tutoring appointment – I’ll see you later!

Hope your having a lovely Thursday…only one more day ’till the weekend!

What’s your favorite nice weather activity?
I think mine is just sitting in the sun, feeling the breeze and soaking it all up!

6 Responses to “hello, spring”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) February 17, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Oh yes, spring weather here too. Soooo nice. I got out for a long run after work. It felt so good to not have to be inside. I got to wear a sports bra and shorts 😉

    • candice February 17, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

      So crazy! It’s amazing how much pretty weather can brighten the day:)

  2. amber@SAHM's musings February 17, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    I’m loving this weather too! It feels so good to be soaking up the vitamin D! I blogged about our nice day yesterday reliving my childhood with side walk chalk. I laid a blanket out on the front lawn and blew bubbles and watched the kids play. Doesn’t really get much better!

    So I have a question: I have some giftcards to spend at target and I’m trying to decide between a juicer, a mini trampoline (I heard jumping is good for the lymphatic system and the kids would like it too) or invest in some kettlebells. What would you do? I’m really at a crossroads!

    • candice February 17, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

      Sounds like such a sweet afternoon:) That’s exactly the way a day should be spent!

      That’s a tough one. You know I love my juicer, but I don’t have much experience with trampolines or kettle bells. I have been contemplating trying kettle bells lately though – they looks so intriguing to me. Do you have a specific workout that you’re going to use them for? Or just wing it? Do you feel like you currently need more inspiration in the healthy eating or working out category? That’s probably how I would decide. Can wait to see what you end up with!

  3. Samantha @ Health, Happiness & Skinny Jeans February 17, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    Oh I am jealous! We had some nicer weather this week but not nice enough for a sunburn. I can’t wait for spring to get here!!

    • candice February 17, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

      I know, right?! I was actually just fine without it until I got a little taste of it this week. Now I’m so antsy!

Leave a Reply

