greens are back!

22 Feb

Hello!

This morning I started the day off with a trip to the gym for a run.  I ended up knocking out 3.6 miles before doing some stretching and push-ups, and then heading home.  For the last couple of months my workouts have been pretty irregular, so I’ve been trying to get back into some sort of routine.  Which is comical because the word routine really doesn’t have a place in my life right now.

Something else I’ve come back to after a 5 day hiatus is green smoothies!

I had to start taking some medication last week, and it completely robbed me of my appetite!  There were certain things I could tolerate to eat, but one food group in particular was OUT.  And that would be vegetables.  A tragedy.

But now they’re back in full swing praise the Lord.

As predicted, this past weekend was so sweet despite the busyness.  On Friday night we met with our house superintendent and our builder to finalize the house plans.  We went through every single area of the house – inside and out – deciding on everything from doorway arches to outlets.  It was a really fun meeting, and we’re hoping to be able to get our foundation poured in the next week.  Fingers crossed!

We had been warned that our superintendent was….a little rough around the edges.  One of those “shoot it to you straight” kind of guys.  And he was.  But I really liked him.  His best line of the night said when the husband asked him what is normal as far as matching exterior colors: “Don’t even ask me about normal.  Nothing about this house is normal, so let’s not even go there.”

The husband and I tend to like sort of a unique style…and I don’t think Doug is used to working with our type.  It’ll be good for him though. hah.

After out meeting we celebrated by eating out some mexican food and then went shopping for some birthday shoes for the husband.  His big 2-8 is coming up this weekend, on moving day nonetheless. Poor husband.

Saturday morning we enjoyed the beautiful weather by going for a drive…taking the long way to our favorite bagel shop.

And after filling up with an everything bagel + Tofutti cream cheese, we set out on a walk to campus.  I really needed the fresh air, sunshine and endorphins, and it felt so good to just get out of the house after all the cold weather as of late. Olive had a banner day, obviously.

less than thrilled to have his picture taken

Later in the morning my mother-in-law came into  town to help us pack, and thank the heavens she did.  She cracked down on us and our procrastination, and we all three packed for about 10 hours total between Saturday and Sunday.  We were so productive and got so much done, but it really made me realize how much we have left to do!  I’m so glad she came because otherwise I’d be in a bad place at this point.

update: I decided for the time being I am growing my hair out, but the resulting poofiness is about to send me running to the salon

Sunday we stayed home from church in lieu of maximizing time packing with MIL, but the husband and I did rise early and go for a 4 mile run. Aside from the 30 mile an hour gusts of wind, the run wasn’t half bad.  You know how you just have on days and off days?  Well, this was an on day for me.  No amount of wind could have kept me from rocking that run.  I love days like that!  By about hour four of packing, my legs were really feeling it, though.

This week will be a bit sparse as far as good food because I currently am finishing packing up my entire kitchen.  Last night I made vegan enchiladas for dinner, and I made enough to have leftovers one night this week. Other than that we’ll probably be eating veggie wraps, Amy’s, or cereal for the rest of our meals.  It’s only for a week though!  I just keep reminding myself of that.

In other news, I still need to share a couple of tasty raw (ish) meals I made last week before the aversion to veggies took over.  I initially found both of these in Crazy Sexy Diet, and they’re so good they’re even husband approved!  Typically I don’t have a hard time keeping it raw until lunch, but when dinner comes this girl needs some cooked (read: hot!) food.  This is an example of a meal I had for dinner a couple of times.

I filled a plate up with a massaged kale avocado salad.

With it I had a smaller portion of quinoa with slightly stir-fried veggies.

For the salad, I tore up a whole bunch of kale into bite sized pieces.  Then I added about 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp lemon juice and 1 small avocado, and I got my hands in there and massaged away.  The dressing turned into a creamy coating over all the leaves that softened the kale, both texture and flavor wise.  The husband commented that it tasted quite similar to a ceasar salad, and I would have to agree!

Next, I very lightly sauteed various veggies (zucchini, broccoli, carrots, cabbage, onions etc) in a wok and then sprayed them with Braggs several times.  Just before it was done, I added the chick peas and stir friend until they were heated through.  Meanwhile, I had a pot of quinoa cooking on the stove, and when it was all done I poured the veggies over the quinoa, plated it, and that was it!

This meal was so easy and delicious!  I had the salad again the next day for lunch, and still had leftovers after that.  So if you’re eating alone, you may want to half the recipe.

I’m getting in some extra tutoring hours with my students this week as they all have some really important events coming up.  Works out for me too because I’ve got some important events coming up that need some money!  Otherwise, the husband and I are just trying to keep our heads above water with work and packing.  It’s a crazy time for sure!

Hope you all had a lovely weekend!

10 Responses to “greens are back!”

  1. Dorry February 22, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Fun to read your update! Adorable pictures of Olive. Trying to grow out your hair is hard, but you just have to get over those pesky stages. Try wearing cute hats and headbands when it’s driving you crazy. 🙂

    I had the best massaged kale salad with tomatoes and avocados recently at a restaurant, and realized I need to make it at home more often. I eat my weight in spinach, but I need some variety.

    • candice February 23, 2011 at 7:47 am #

      Thanks for the tip – I’ve been lazy trying to come up with new things to do with it…hats and headbands = a great idea. I am just like you – I eat so much spinach all the time. Do you think you can have too much spinach? seriously though? 🙂

  2. Halley (Blunder Construction) February 22, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    Ooooh, I can’t wait for sneak peeks at the house under construction (but that’s not surprising for a nerd like me.) Are you going to be there for the pouring?? You have at least one reader who is fascinated by construction, so photos and detail will not be wasted on deaf ears. 🙂 Congrats again, this must be such an exciting/hectic time!

    • candice February 23, 2011 at 7:49 am #

      haha, you’re so funny, Halley:) I’m not sure if we’ll be there for the pouring. Unfortunately we live an hour away right now, so we can’t go by every day. Once we move to our temporary home next week it will get a lot easier! Thanks for wanting to hear all the details – they’ll be forthcoming!

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach) February 22, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    Glad you’re able to eat the veggies again! And don’t you just love those “on” days! I adore those pictures of Olive by the way.

    • candice February 23, 2011 at 7:50 am #

      aww, thanks:) And yes, it is a relief. As my friend Grace said yesterday “if you can’t eat veggies, what are you eating?” She knows me too well:)

  4. amber@sahm's musings February 22, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Cute puppy pics! Hurray for MIL who crack the whip and help with the packing! 🙂 I’m looking forward to house building updates. I just toured one of my friend’s newly being built house. She kept gushing over all the storage. I told her I’d start packing some of my junk for her to store Ha! j/k anyway she had arched doorways and I really liked them. Kind of a throwback to some of the old houses near downtown. So I assume that you are getting arched doorways?

    Don’t let your hair get the best of you. use hair accessories! I stated a year ago that I wanted Christy Nockles hair. It’s been tough but I’m getting there.

    • candice February 23, 2011 at 7:53 am #

      I know – my mom is coming tomorrow and I’m hoping she’ll do the same thing!

      I’m not sure how much storage we’re going to have – although we will have an attic and garage which we’ve never had before. yay! I’m so excited about the garage. We are getting arched doorways…I guess it really is kind of a throwback to some of the older houses. I hadn’t really thought about it that way – I guess we’re getting our dream of an old house in one way or another:)

      Thanks for the advice about the hair – anything worth having is probably going to take some sacrifice, right?! The theme of my life right now, ha! Anyway, must get some headbands stat!

  5. Samantha @ Health, Happiness & Skinny Jeans February 23, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    Look at Olive…she has a blast!! Cute doggie photos get me everytime!

    • candice February 24, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      she was definitely having the time of her life, lol. She loves hanging out the window!

Leave a Reply

