it's never easy saying goodbye

26 Feb

It has been a little quiet over here the last couple of days.  On Thursday my mom came and helped me pack all day long…we were super productive and got all the big rooms finished.  I don’t know what I would have done without all the help from our moms…such a blessing.

Wednesday and Friday were days full of goodbyes as I tutored Bomi for the last time, taught my last PiYo class and had my last tutoring appointment with Hye kyoung.

Bomi and I

It’s never easy saying goodbye.  Friday morning there were many tears and promises that it’s only goodbye for now.  But in the end I just had to walk away as Hye kyoung cried, closing her office door behind me for the last time.  I came home and had a cry fest/ pity party for myself for about thirty minutes, and then the tears ran dry.  And then I just laid, staring up at the ceiling, promising myself that this move is going to last.  This time we aren’t going to have to say goodbye after such a short time.  It seems like just yesterday that we were saying goodbye to our Thai friend, P’Dew, as we stood crying and waving in the middle of our street in Chiang Mai.  It’s amazing how time flies.

Next up on the list: goodbye house and goodbye baby Olive.

The house I can handle.  Yes I will miss it.  And I will cry and reminisce about the first day we walked in and all the good memories here.  But in the end I will remember that it is just a house.  And we will make our home wherever we go.

On the other hand, I honestly do not know how I will say goodbye to my little dog.  The reality is that she will only be ten minutes away, but it just will not be the same.  She won’t be there to kiss my face in the morning, welcome me when I come home from the day or lay on my lap as I work in the evening.  After a day full of high emotions, it’s more than I can bear to think about right now, leaving her. There are moments where I really do not know if I can do it.  Today as I laid on the bed, feeling so downtrodden about leaving Hye kyoung, I held my baby close and after awhile the distress of missing Hye kyoung and the sadness that has already set in from missing O began to melt together and I could no longer tell them apart. Thankfully we still have a couple of days left as we will move all of our stuff out of the house tomorrow, but the husband and I will sleep here on an air mattress Saturday and Sunday night with Olive in tow.  And then Monday morning we will close, and off we’ll go – him to work and me to our new town to leave Olive at my grandma’s.  😦

Unfortunately I don’t have any food to show you this morning.  Since Thursday afternoon we’ve been eating leftovers, Amy’s frozen dinners and meals out.  With all the craziness I honestly haven’t missed cooking, but it will be really nice to get back into the swing of things come Monday.

Thank you all so much for sticking around during this crazy time of transition. Things will soon be closer to normal around here, and every post won’t be a sappy, sad story.  I appreciate all your comments, encouragement and advice – you give life to my blog, and I’m so thankful!

I hope everyone is having a great start to the weekend!  On a more exciting and positive note, tomorrow is the husband’s 28th birthday, and even thought we’ll be loading boxes all day, I’m going to make it as special as I can.  I’ll be back with more about that tomorrow.

What is a situation you can remember where you had to say goodbye to someone important to you?


9 Responses to “it's never easy saying goodbye”

  1. Malissa February 26, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Awe, I’m praying for you guys today. I hope all goes well and you are able to feel even more positively about your move. Right after college I moved to Minnesota so I could work for a year while Trevor finished law school, we had always been long distance up to that point. I remember being so, so sad during the 10 hour drive. It was a crazy mix of emotions because I was so excited to be living in the same state as Trevor but leaving my family was gut wrenching. Eventually I got a job, had my apartment set up and learned my way around. I still missed my family and loved visits with them but I actually started to enjoy my new city (everything except the bitter cold, Haha). I’m not going to lie…I was over the moon when we moved back to Tulsa, but it is amazing how God has created us to adapt and thrive.

  2. Paige @ Running Around Normal February 26, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    It’s always so tough saying goodbye…I hate them! Gotta look forward to what’s ahead though 🙂

  3. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition February 26, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    I’m horrible at goodbyes. I just hate them. Leaving my college friends behind in December was one of the most painful days of my life. I cried for hours.

    I really feel for you having to give up Olive. I can tell how much it hurts you, but thank goodness it is only temporary! Soon enough y’all will be settled and she will have a new home to play in!

  4. Salah (My Healthiest Lifestyle) February 27, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Saying goodbye is so hard! Unfortunately, I’ve had to say goodbye several times, but at the same time it created a new beginning to meet lots of wonderful new people so its not that unfortunate, just sad. One of the hardest goodbyes I had was when I moved from San Luis Obispo, CA to dallas…left all my friends/family that I made at Cal Poly to come back to Texas. It was super hard but they are still family and I talk to them all the time!

    ps. I have been wanting to take a PiYo class but I’m nervous, what’s it like?

  5. ely February 28, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    😦 Sorry this is all hard today, but in a couple of months you will have a lovely, amazing and NEW home for you and hubs and pup to all be together. You can do it, I have faith in you!

  6. Lizz @ Leading the Good Life March 2, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    Best of luck! I cannot imagine having to say goodbye to my pup. But at least it’s not goodbye for good! Plus it gives you more reason to spoil her. 🙂

  7. I hate saying goodbye. I try to look at it a new beginning but its always hard. Good luck with the transition.

  8. Halley (Blunder Construction) March 6, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    Thinking of you! Hope the transition is going smoothly! I know you miss your little O, but she’s going to spread joy and cheer (and furs) in your grandma’s house… the time will fly! Looking forward to an update

    • candice March 7, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      Thanks so much Halley. It brightened my day to hear from you! Olive is definitely spreading cheer at my grandma’s. I think they are really liking having her around. How could they not, right?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

