some fun news

8 Mar

So it has been pretty interesting living with my mom and step-dad so far.  Two sets of adults sharing a house who are used to having all their own space is expected to be quite interesting I suppose.  Truly, though it has been fine, at least on our end…Clark?

Thankfully, they worked really hard before we got here to set up the house to where we’d have as much of our own space as possible.  We have the whole back bedroom to ourselves (thankfully we aren’t sharing that, ha:), a bathroom, and the front bedroom has been turned into our very own office.   Really the only thing we have to share is the kitchen…which is funny because it’s not only the place where I make the most messes, but also the place where my mom is most particular (it’s true mom – you know it).  And btw, there’s nothing wrong with being particular.  Better that than not caring, eh?

Anyway.  So I’ve tried to be really careful, cleaning up after myself and the husband and trying to make sure I do my part.  This afternoon, I went in there to make some lunch, finally deciding on some Amy’s black bean soup and an apple.

First, I tried to clean some items in the sink, only to find that the sink was not draining.  What the heck?  Seeing as how the other day the bathtub stopped draining, I’m thinking the husband and I must have put some kind of curse on the drains in this house.  It is almost brand new after all.

Anyway, so I finally gave up and decided to heat up my soup – I put it in the microwave, covered it with a paper towel, pressed start and stepped out into the garage for a second.  When I came back I realized my paper towel had fallen off and soup had exploded all over the microwave.  Crap.  So, I start cleaning it all up and just when I almost had ever last spot off, I realized that I had laid the dish towel down right in the middle of my soup.

I’m a walking disaster.  Fortunately I did get everything cleaned up eventually, and I got kind of tickled about it because I had made such a big mess…and it just kept getting worse.

Moving on.

I have a little secret to reveal that I’m pretty excited about.

Well, a secret and a confession really.

My confession is that I’ve been keeping a secret, and my secret is that I’m training for another half marathon!

Relax people.  Stay in your seats.

I’ve actually only run one half marathon ever, which was in Phuket, Thailand in 2008.

The following year we ran the full marathon in Oklahoma City!

While I’m so excited about the race, I didn’t want to say anything because I was afraid. Some of you may remember last fall when I announced that the husband and I would be running a full marathon.  Then a couple weeks later I announced that we were dropping to the half.  Then a couple weeks after that I admitted total defeat when I declared that we would not be running any part of the race afterall.

I just didn’t want the same thing to happen this time, and I wanted to get through the move/change in routine before I made it public.  But now I’m ready. I’ve decided I’m not going to let anything stop me from running this race – I’ve been enjoying my runs so much!  I’m currently on week 5 of my 12 week plan, and this past weekend was the five mile long run.

My current schedule for this week is:

Monday: yoga/PiYo – I went with PiYo this morning and it kicked my butt
Tuesday: 3.5 mile run
Wednesday: 2 mile run or cross train – TBD
Thursday: 3.5 mile run
Friday: rest
Saturday: cross train – TBD
Sunday: 5 miles again

There is truly few things that feel as good as the accomplishment of training for and running a race.  In my experience the training is as much or more challenging and rewarding than the race itself.  But crossing that finish line feels pretty good too.

What goal (s) are you excited about accomplishing in the coming months?

11 Responses to “some fun news”

  1. Dorry March 8, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Very exciting about your next half marathon! Is it in Oklahoma? I agree that the feeling of accomplishment is so awesome when training and running a race. My 2nd half marathon is less than 3 weeks away and I’m getting really excited!

    • candice March 8, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

      Thanks, Dorry! It is in Oklahoma – the Memorial Marathon. I can’t wait to see how your half goes. I feel like my training isn’t quite as on target this time. I need to kick it up a little bit!

  2. Halley (Blunder Construction) March 8, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Your mess in the kitchen story is sad, meow! I always get in the way of myself when I’m trying not to make a mess. Explosions and spills, oh my! I’m getting antsy to get back into training for a race, but not ready for another half marathon quite yet. I think this will be good to keep yourself on track while everything else is currently up in the air!

    • candice March 8, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

      Glad to hear I’m not the only one!! Good luck deciding on the race – no matter what distance, races are so motivating.

  3. salah@myhealthiestlifestyle March 8, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    YAY! I’m so excited for you girl!!! You are going to do awesome!

    • candice March 8, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

      Thanks, girl – I hope so!

  4. Heather (Where's the Beach) March 8, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    LOL – I have days where I’m a walking disaster like that too. It doesn’t help when you’re making an effort to be extra careful 😉

    Congrats on the training!! So happy for you. I need to check out that half!

  5. Joslyn @ missfitbliss March 9, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Woo hoo! I’m so excited for you! Thank you for inspiring us by telling us such great news. Now we can cheer you on virtually:)

    • candice March 10, 2011 at 9:46 am #

      Hey Joslyn! Thanks for the sweet comment…and for cheering me on:) I think I’m going to need it!

  6. amber@SAHM'S musings March 10, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    I’m a mess in the kitchen so you’re not alone. Congrats on the training. I have several friends running either the half, relay or full so I’m considering going down and hanging out along the course with some signs and pom poms 😉

    • candice March 10, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

      Being a spectator is fun:) Especially when you have pom poms!

Leave a Reply

