our first mardi gras

10 Mar

Last night the husband and celebrated Mardi Gras for the first time ever.  I’ve never been to New Orleans, and I’ve never really seen the point in celebrating all the way up here in Oklahoma, but when I found out that one of my favorite restaurants was hosting a shindig (albeit a low key shindig), I was suddenly feeling very festive.

105 Degrees created an entire raw 3 course dinner for Mardi Gras – gumbo, red beans and rice – the works.  Don’t hate on me for saying this, but I’m not a big fan of either of those dishes, so the husband and I went for the parsnip noodles and the lasagna instead. Oh, and the kale chips…can’t forget the kale chips.

There was live music and waitresses (“guides” as they call them) wearing masks as they flitted around from table to table taking orders and explaining the ins and outs of raw food.  This was my first time to order anything beyond a smoothie or a juice, and it was just as lavash as I had anticipated.

The parsnip noodle dish was a mixture of spiralized zucchini noodles and parsnip noodles (which would be so easy to recreate), soaked in a cashew pesto sauce, with tiny half tomatoes, coconut “bacon” and chopped walnuts.  We were most intrigued by the coconut bacon – made by marinating the flesh from a coconut in maple syrup and tamari and then dehydrating it.   It didn’t taste like bacon at all, but definitely looked like it.

Surprisingly the husband liked it more than I did, so I gave most of them to him…while he didn’t care for the kale chips (what?!) so I got the whole little bowl to myself. mmm.  I was surprised how much different they were having been dehydrated instead of baked, and honestly I liked the baked version better.  But that might be just because it’s what I’m used to.  The baked are more crisp and light whereas the dehydrated version is more dense and stiff.  Both delicious nonetheless.

The lasagna was a layered masterpiece of flat zucchini (or cucumber?) noodles, spinach and tomato slices filled in between with a macadamia nut ricotta cheese, sun dried tomato sauce and cashew pesto sauce.  It was beautiful and tasty, and the only downside was that it was crazy hard to eat!  I didn’t want to mess it up, but it was impossible to slice through, so we ended up having to demolish it in the end.

The food at 105 Degrees is fantastic, but I think what I love most is the atmosphere.  Sometimes I wish I could just go hang out there all day – watching the chefs do what they do and soaking in the clean lines and the smells of fresh juice and veggies.  I just love being there.  I actually feel that way about that entire area of Oklahoma City – such a refreshing place to be, about to become even more so as Whole Foods looks to be coming along quite nicely.

It would have been the perfect night, but unfortunately on the way to dinner the Mini got into a scuffle with a car three times its size when we got hit from behind by a big black Expedition.  Having just exited the highway and stopped at the light at the end of the off ramp, we were chatting away when all of a sudden we heard a crunch as we were jolted in our seats. We were kind of in a not so good part of town, which could have been a bad thing, but it worked out in our favor because there was a homeless man, sign in hand, standing about two feet from our car, who saw the whole thing and was quite excited (a little too excited) about being our witness. So that was good.  The cops came and helped us setting things, but the damage was insignificant enough that within a half hour we were on our way to dinner.

Thankfully everyone was okay, and I’m super proud of our little car because it held up quite nicely all things considered.  We drove away with a few scratches and a cracked bumper, and now we play the insurance waiting game until we can get it fixed.

———————–

More to come on lots going on here in the country this week – a peacock sighting by the husband, a run-in with the town sheriff, delicious lemon coconut bar making, and trips to the city for some yogaaaaa!  The husband and I have held strong and haven’t been to see Olive even once since Sunday night (we decided it’s best for her and us if we don’t try to go see her every day).  We both miss her so much and comment to each other every day about what we’d be doing if she was here.  We’re a week and a half down, with fourteen and a half to go until our family can be together again.  Not that I’m counting.


Did you celebrate Mardi Gras? What’s your favorite part?
My favorite part was just having a good reason to go eat dinner at 105.  Oh, and the masks were pretty cool too.

13 Responses to “our first mardi gras”

  1. Malissa March 10, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Crap! I’m sorry to hear about your car, that really stinks, but your dinner looks great! We are like y’all, we haven’t every celebrated Mardi Gras, maybe we should try. It is always fun to celebrate, right?

    • candice March 10, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

      Agreed – any excuse to celebrate is a good one! Jonathan and I are really good at finding reasons to celebrate – especially with everything going on right now. The other day he took me out to celebrate my attendance and successful completion of substitute teacher training, ha!

      • Malissa March 10, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

        Haha that is great! It is really important to do things together when you’re in the midst of change. Trevor’s Mom lived with us for about three months and that time alone was precious to us.

  2. Amy B @ Second City Randomness March 10, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    Glad to hear the little accident wasn’t too severe! Although they can still be quite annoying…

    I used to celebrate Mardi Gras in St. Louis every year. We were in Vegas this year and didn’t really awknowledge it. Boo…

    • candice March 10, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

      yes, so annoying. It seems like whether it’s your fault or not you always end up having to pay for something.

      I’d say missing Mardi Gras because you’re in Vegas isn’t super terrible:)

  3. amber@SAHM's musings March 10, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    Glad you all are ok. Getting hit from behind can be so scary.

    I guess you could say I celebrated Mardi Gras with my family and parents at our favorite mexican restaurant. I through caution to the wind and ate and ate some more 😉

    • candice March 10, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

      it is scary…didn’t even see it coming.

      I think your celebration sounds excellent. Anything for chips and salsa!!

  4. Heather (Where's the Beach) March 10, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    I’ve never liked gumbo. Ick. Now red beans and rice I can do. Though, I never had a meat version….I’m so very jealous you have such easy access to a place like 105 Degrees. I will get there one of these days!

    • candice March 10, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

      So glad I’m not the only one who dislikes gumbo! And I can’t believe someone is jealous of me for a healthy restaurant…I’ve always felt like I didn’t have anything like that at all. Thank goodness for 105, the only healthy/animal productless restaurant in OK:)

  5. salah@myhealthiestlifestyle March 10, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    I celebrated mardi gras in my mind lol. I didn’t have the time to do anything for it, but its fun to hear how everyone else celebrated!!

    • candice March 10, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

      haha…”in your mind”. You’re funny. Don’t feel bad – it’s not that exciting of a “holiday” (is it even considered a holiday?) if you don’t live in New Orleans anyway.

  6. Abby March 11, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    I’ve never celebrated Mardi Gras, but I just wanted to say that I love your recap of the car accident. Not a good situation but pretty entertaining to read about! I’m glad everyone was OK. Poor Mini!

    • candice March 12, 2011 at 10:58 am #

      Thanks, Abby…so sweet:)

Leave a Reply

