an unexpected week

12 May

After spending the entire afternoon in the hospital today,  it’s 3am and I can’t sleep.

It has been the craziest week and definitely hasn’t gone as I expected.  So, I’m trying to sift all the wonderful things that God is trying to teach me out of the mound of uncertainties…and keep on going.

The primary reason (as there are many) behind my elusiveness from the past week is that I had surgery last Friday.   Unfortunately, I’m not really ready to share with the world exactly what is going on, but I find it quite hard to write on my little blog while trying to sidestep the most major thing that is going on in my life right now.

So, I had surgery last Friday, and what was supposed to be a 45 minute operation turned into an hour and a half operation…which of course has extended into a seven day recovery rather than a two day recovery.  And…being the genius that I am, I promised my new employers that I would begin my new position by substituting for a teacher who is on vacation for the entire week.  Oops.  Let’s just hope my first impression with them was super strong because otherwise they’re probably wondering what they’ve gotten themselves into.  Either way.  I actually went into work today for the first time, still feeling a little shaky, but ready to try and jump back out into the real world…only for it to end in disaster.  Two hours later and the husband is picking me up on the side of the road and carting me off to the ER where I spent the next four hours in serious pain…and then three more after that just trying to get my bearings back and waiting to get out of there.  All in all I’m just happy to be back home in my own bed with no more needles in my arm or awkward male x-ray techs.  “I don’t care if you see the back of my hospital gown gape open – just get this x-ray done so I can get back in bed!”

I digress.

So that is that.  I went ahead and took off work again today and tomorrow.  Even though my first instinct is always to push myself the extra mile, I’m learning that sometimes I just have to listen to what my body is telling me to do.  Novel idea, right?

This past week I have eaten very little aside from graham crackers.  I don’t really have an appetite at all, and it’s hard to get much down.  The poor husband has been subsisting on fast and frozen food, and that alone is really starting to wear on me.  So today I shall spend the day mostly in bed, planning some meals before I venture out to our local Country Boy to get a few groceries.  I’m praying they have hummus because I’ve slowly started craving it again…but I’m definitely not getting my hopes up!  It is Country Boy after all.

In other news, the house is coming along nicely!  Yesterday they were staining our concrete and the brick and stone had arrived.  Our close date is set for six weeks from yesterday, and we’re still hoping to make it in by then. I’m looking forward to doing a real update soon, once I can get up there to take some pictures.

And of course I still have a long overdue half marathon recap still to come…

I’m so ready to get back into some sense of a normal life.  These past 10 weeks have been very trying, but I know there is a purpose in them, and I know we’ll come out better in the end.  I just keep thanking the Lord that I have my sweet husband and amazingly supportive family along for the ride.

12 Responses to “an unexpected week”

  1. Halley (Blunder Construction) May 12, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Candice! I am wishing you a fast, strong recovery! I can only imagine the stresses that you’ve been under, but I know in the end this transition will be worth it. So sorry to hear all this has happened. Right now, I just want to bring you some hummus!

    • candice May 12, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      You are so sweet – thanks so much for the greatly needed encouragement Halley. And good news…Country Boy came through with the hummus:)

  2. ely May 12, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Hang in there love. I’m thinking of you lots, and am your biggest cheerleader. love you, xoxoely

  3. Amy B @ Second City Randomness May 12, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    Oh Candice, I hope everything gets better soon! Sorry to hear about the surgery complications… I’ll be crossing my fingers for you. 🙂

    • candice May 12, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      Thanks so much, sweet friend:) I hope you’re doing well!

  4. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition May 12, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    I am praying for a speedy recovery for you!! Hospitals completely freak me out. I hope you are alright and I am glad that you are back home!

    • candice May 12, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      Thanks, Jenn. Being in the hospital so much more than usual lately has made me ever so thankful that I’ve always been really healthy and this is only a passing season. You’re so sweet:)

  5. Malissa May 12, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    I’m praying for a quick recovery and a boost to your spirit! I love that your grocery store is called Country Boy 🙂 and I’m glad he came through for you on the hummus front.

    • candice May 13, 2011 at 7:55 am #

      Thanks so much Malissa – your words definitely brought a boost to my spirit! 🙂

  6. Theresa May 12, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    Oh I hope you get better soon! Long recoveries are so awful. When stuff like that happens to me, I just try to remind my self that God is totally in control and loving. Praying for ya!

    • candice May 13, 2011 at 7:55 am #

      Thanks, girl:) Such a great reminder that I need to hear everyday.

  7. amber@SAHM's musings May 13, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    Candice,
    I’m so sorry to hear about this. I’ll be praying for a full recovery for you! I have a verse for you that I read in my quiet time yesterday that I think would bring you encouragement. I’ll leave you with two different translations both applicable 😉

    Exodus 33:14 (contemp english version)
    The LORD said, ” I will go with you and give you peace.”

    (NIV)
    The LORD replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

    May peace and rest be yours today and in the coming weeks. ((HUGS))

Leave a Reply

