we built a house

8 Jul

when we first decided to build our house, we named this song as our theme song for the project.  not very good video quality, but it was the best I could find.

A little over five months ago, the husband and I decided to do something a little crazy.  Having always been the types for adventure, we rarely take the simple route when it comes to big events in life, whether it be moving overseas for a year, running a marathon together or in this case – moving in with my mom and step-dad for four months and building a house.

But I’m happy to say we have a lot of life and learning tucked under our belts, and even in the midst of the most difficult and trying moments I’m so enthralled by doing life together.  The house building process was at the same time one of the most exciting and one of the most stressful projects we’ve tackled to date.

There were so many moments, on those long drives home after work where I just kept throwing out the question of why.  Why in the world did we sign up for this?  It’s so stressful and difficult.  But at the same time there were many feel good moments when we saw the results of our determination come to fruition through even the littlest details – air ducts being installed, the addition of light switch plates, or the little tree in our front yard, however dead it may be:)

I love when I walk around various rooms of our house, and every little piece has a story and a vivid memory.

“…remember when I got on your shoulders in the pitch dark of night and tried to make a big ‘x’ on our dining room ceiling so they’d know where to hang that light?”

or

“…remember the time we celebrated my new job by using our drywall in the middle of the living room as a table for our cupcakes?”

or

“…remember that  light that we ordered for our entryway only to realize upon it’s arrival that it was sized more for a hotel foyer than a modest sized house?

Overall it was worth every single decision, every moment commuting between work and my mom’s house, every disagreement and every stressful moment.  We’re now able to add one more challenging life experience to our ever growing collection of adventures, and baby it feels SO good to walk in our home at the end of every day and say “we did this together.”

We closed on our 2nd house at 2pm on Friday, June 24th, two days past our expected date, and with the help of several family members (God bless them:), we moved in that night.  However cliche it sounds, “good things come to those who wait” rang in my ears as we walked up the sidewalk to our house and the husband swept me up and carried me through the entry.

These days we’re loving all the extra time we have in the evenings, while trying desperately to revive our poor grass that was half dead before it was even laid.  The husband has become quite good friends with the sprinkler, and I’m falling more in love with my kitchen every day.


We are so grateful for the opportunity to go through this process and most of all for the blessing of having our own home now.  And of course one of the biggest highlights of it all has been getting our little baby dog back.  I know she had a great time at my grandpa and grandma’s.  They spoiled her rotten, and she loved every minute of it.  But we missed her like crazy, and are loving every minute of having her back at home with us.
While she misses watching the cows and chasing squirrels all day long, I think she’s adjusting back to city life quite well.  She’s finding her favorite spots inside and having a grand time exploring the neighborhood on our morning walks.
Now that we’re finally getting settled and life is beginning to get into a new routine, we’re ready and waiting for our next adventure.
What is the best adventure you’ve ever been on?

in our guest bedroom on a rainy night less than a week before we closed

Happy Friday!
By the way – while I don’t have very many inside pictures of our house to post right now, I’ll definitely put together a little photo tour once we get unpacked and the house doesn’t look like a tornado anymore.  Trust me, you don’t want to see that.

14 Responses to “we built a house”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) July 8, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    YAY – love the house!!! Love that kitchen too. Can’t wait to see all the incredible dishes you cook up. I bet Olive is so happy to be home again.

    • candice July 8, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

      Thanks, girl! You’re so sweet. I’m so excited to be back in the kitchen:) I think Olive is pretty happy. She misses all the treats she got at Grandma’s…but other than that…haha. I need to buy her some healthy ones from you – then she can have more!

      • Heather (Where's the Beach) July 10, 2011 at 9:30 am #

        Oh I bet she was in treat heaven huh??? Just let me know if you want any. You don’t have to go through the etsy store.

  2. ely July 8, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    YAY!!! It’s beautiful! I love the shake shingles. Can’t wait to see it in person!

    • candice July 8, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

      Thanks, Ely…yay for shake shingles! 🙂 You guys must come over soon!

  3. Grace July 8, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Candice it is so so beautiful! I am so thrilled for yall and almost a little teary eyed reading your post. Yall are such precious friends!

    • candice July 8, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

      Aw, Grace. We love you guys so much. And miss you too. I can’t believe you’re leaving so soon! Sad:(

  4. Lesley Lifting Life July 8, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Your house looks awesome!! Love that kitchen 🙂

    • candice July 8, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

      Thanks, Lesley! The kitchen’s my favorite place to be in our house:)

  5. Abby July 8, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    I am so happy for you guys! The house is beautiful.

    • candice July 8, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

      Thanks, Abby! so sweet:)

  6. Halley (Blunder Construction) July 9, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    Finally 🙂 Your home is absolutely beautiful. I looove that kitchen! Talk about a dream kitchen, can’t wait to what you’ve been cooking up in there! (P.S. do you think you should photoshop out your street number?)

  7. amber@SAHM's musings July 10, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    What a beautiful house!!!! I know it was quite an undertaking but you have had some wonderful bonding experiences through it all it seems. Love the kitchen especially the backsplash. Can I have your backsplash?j/k 🙂

  8. Paige @ Running Around Normal July 12, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Omigoodness, Candice!! What an amazing experience! It must feel SO rewarding:)

Leave a Reply

