happy 5

26 Jul

Last weekend the husband and I took off to celebrate our fifth year of being husband and wife.  Full of sleeping in, shopping and long conversations over good food the weekend was every bit as sweet as I’d imagined it.

I still remember the onslaught of unsolicited advice we received the summer we got married about how difficult marriage would be and how things would never be the same again.

Well, things have certainly not been the same.  They’ve been so much better.  I’m not trying to paint an unrealistic picture of roses and rainbows, but there’s no doubt at all that my happiest years have been the years since I was joined with him.  Marriage gets a bad name from so many people these days, but I can tell you for a facet that there are happy marriages too.  I don’t buy for one second that marriage is constant hard work.

Everything really is better when we’re together whether we’re exploring our new city, working at home or falling asleep at night.  Choosing him to be by my side was the best decision I’ve ever made.

When times are tough as they so often are, I am most thankful for our love and friendship.  Someone to talk things through with, cry with and sometimes just sit in silence with – he’s my rock.

I’m so excited about all the life we’ve lived together in these five years – living overseas, parenting a puppy, new jobs, six moves, living with parents and building a house – and I am so ready for the adventures the coming years will bring.  I think life will only get more challenging as more responsibilities come our way and we continue to live through heartbreak and struggles, but the joys will be so much deeper too.

I love you, dear.  And I’m the luckiest girl in the world.
Happy 5.

10 Responses to “happy 5”

  1. Michal July 26, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Well said, Candice. Marriage is a wonderful thing. Happy 5th!

    • candice July 26, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

      Thanks, Michal! We really need to catch up soon. I’ve been praying for you.

      • Michal July 27, 2011 at 8:28 am #

        Thanks for your prayers. Been praying for you too. And yes, we definitely need to catch up soon! I’m thinking a coffee date in Edmond sometime…and I want to see your new house! How exciting! Love you guys.

  2. ely July 26, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    yay! Happy Anniversary!

    • candice July 26, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

      must. see. you. soon. 🙂

  3. Lesley Lifting Life July 26, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Happy Anniversary to you two! 🙂

    • candice July 26, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

      Thanks Leslie:)

  4. Linda July 26, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    I totally agree with you! Thanks for writing your thought, and happy 5th!!!!

    • candice July 26, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

      Thanks, Linda! We miss you guys:) Hope you’re having a good summer down south!

  5. amber@SAHM'S musings July 27, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    Blessing to you both on your 5th anniversary

Leave a Reply

