a lovely breakfast

5 Aug

Thank you all so much for the sweet responses to my post from Monday.  I couldn’t have asked for more encouragement and understanding than what you all showed me.  It was a difficult post to write, but once I put it out there I felt immense relief.  It felt really good to be open about everything, and your words brightened my spirit.

On Monday afternoon I had another doctor’s appointment, and the news was not what I wanted to hear.  For certain reasons, my doctor feels it’s best to hold off from doing another treatment this month and instead give my body a month to rest.  It’s hard to feel like I’m just sitting back, making no progress.  But I trust my doctor one hundred percent, so I’m trying to just distract myself and not dwell on it.  One thing I’ve learned more times than I would have liked is that it is not a good idea to put timelines on this process.  I get ideas in my head about when I want things to happen by, and so far I’ve been let down every time.  I’m working on letting go of any plan I have and just focusing on other things in life instead.  Easier said than done, right?

In other news, I’ve been trying out some awesome vegan recipes as of late.  My new kitchen was calling my name from the second we moved in, and I have seriously been in heaven since I started cooking again!

One of my favorites from the last couple of weeks is one I snagged from Vegan with a Vengeance.  I’m telling you – if you don’t have this cookbook yet, you must pick up a copy.  Everything single recipe I have made from it has been awesome (see here, here and here)…and this was no different.

The husband and I woke up late last Saturday morning…okay, he woke up late, and I woke up even later.  And when I dragged myself into the kitchen, he had all the ingredients laid out for a lovely little breakfast of pumpkin waffles.  After some intense discussion, we decided to nix the waffles and try out this scone recipe from VwaV.

He made chocolate chip.

And I went with blueberry (his were better).

But they were both delicious.  I think I ate about 4 scones in the following 12 hours.

A lovely Saturday indeed:)

I hope you all have had a great week, and are looking forward to an even better weekend.

What is your favorite cookbook – vegan or non-vegan?

Mine is a tie between VwaV and Eat Drink and Be Vegan.  Couldn’t live without those two!

7 Responses to “a lovely breakfast”

  1. Sarah August 5, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    I am glad that the comments brightened your spirits, and I am sure your head wants a break from thinking about it just as much as your body so focusing on other things is a great idea!

    I was just about to do a series on cookbooks! I think my favourite – and this is hard – is Vegan Soul Kitchen. But I also love VwaV and it has a special place in my heart because it was the first vegan cookbook I bought. Vegan Soul Kitchen wins for me simply because it’s unique in the vegan cookbook world. It’s balanced between very healthy and less healthy recipes, the recipes are easily adaptable and use mostly ingredients I have on hand, and…best of all…some of recipes are quite different than the ones in my other cookbook. Plus he recommends a song for each of the recipes. 🙂

    • candice August 16, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

      Never seen Vegan Soul Kitchen before – I must check it out now!

  2. Malissa August 5, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    What a fun and difficult question! I have lots of cookbooks that I love, but my favorite is probably my America’s Test Kitchen book. I love knowing that if I make something new it will turn out exactly the way it should…if I follow their directions Haha. For healthier recipes though my favorite sources are magazines, I love getting new and seasonal ideas every month.

    Taking a break must be difficult. I hope you are able to kick back and enjoy this time with your husband. Even though you feel like you’re spinning your wheels, taking care of your body is still doing something great!

    • candice August 16, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

      Thanks for the encouragement, Malissa. That’s a great point:)

  3. amber@SAHM's musings August 6, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Love scones and just had an awesome one from Thunder Prairie Baking company this morning! My go to cookbooks (none which are even slightly vegetarian ;-P) are The Pioneer Woman Cooks, Better Homes & Garden cookbook (given by hubby our 1st Christmas when we were dating!) I do hope to start using Jillian Michael’s Master Your Metabolism cookbook more and it does have an awesome vegetarian quiche recipe in it! I also have a family cookbook my sister-in-law made for everyone one Christmas with all of our favorite family recipes in it. I do love that one too!

  4. Sophie August 15, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Hey I recently found your blog, and I’m loving it so far! Those scones look delicious :-).
    Sorry things aren’t going well, I can imagine how frustrating that is!
    Favourite vegan cookbook is Peas and Thank You and I don’t even have my own copy yet!

    • candice August 16, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

      Hey! Thanks for stopping by! I love Peas and Thank You, and I am itching to get my hands on that cookbook:)

Leave a Reply

