26 and 27

8 May

week 26

week 27

Baby boy and baby girl are getting big!  They each weigh about 2 pounds and are about 14.5 inches long as of this week.  They’re doing all kinds of cool things now like sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing their little eyes and even sucking their fingers (source)!  It’s amazing to me how fast they are growing, and it makes me think about how fast they’re going to keep growing once they join us out here in the world.  Makes me sad thinking about it already, lol.

This was a pretty epic week because we had two showers!  They were both so perfect and definitely merit their own posts.  Along with that we received such sweet gifts from family and friends like our double stroller, carseats, crib mattresses, baby swing, lots of clothes and so many other things.  It has been the most exciting time!  Not that it’s just about getting stuff, but having all these things pile up in our little house is making everything seem so real and soooo close.

Technically we still have 13 weeks left until go time, but my doctor thinks the babies will come in early July rather than early August.  I’m not focusing on that too much though because I’m thinking it could make for a really long July if they decide to stay in there.  And of course the longer they stay in there (within reason:), the better!

They are definitely making themselves known though.  Moving around all the time and of course giving me lots of aches and heartburn.  Oh heartburn.  Sleeping has become quite interesting as well of course as it’s become somewhat of an olympic sport just to roll over in bed.  Oh, and my ankles and feet have already decided to start swelling up.  I look down and think “who’s legs are these??!” because they surely cannot be mine.  It’s weird to feel like you’re wearing somebody else’s legs.  I honestly cannot quite imagine what I’m going to feel/look like in about 6-8 weeks.

But how I love this bump.  I love getting to be with our little babies all the time, taking them with me everywhere I go.  Despite the discomfort of nighttime, I look forward to it every evening because I get to just spend time feeling the babies and thinking about every aspect of what they’re going to be like.  I don’t think anything will ever quite compare to this time…having them inside me and getting to experience so much of them.  I think the love surrounding them multiplied times 100 this week with all our friends and family celebrating them.  It was the best ever.

6 Responses to “26 and 27”

  1. amber@SAHM's musings May 8, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    You are THE CUTEST PREGNANT MAMA ever! Can I borrow your outfit from week 26? j/k 😉

    • candice May 13, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

      lol, you’re too sweet:) let’s definitely plan a time to get together over coffee as soon as school is out. i’ve only got a couple of weeks left. it sounds much more fun to meet up than just talk on the phone:) And I’m actually hoping and praying against a c-section. my doctor is game to let me try whatever as long as the babies cooperate!

  2. Alison May 8, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

    You look adorable, Candice! So happy for you. I can totally relate to not recognizing your legs/feet. Mine were out of control swollen! They went back to normal within a couple days of delivery though so no worries 🙂

    • candice May 13, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

      Thanks for your sweet comment and for the reassurance! I just keep telling myself it’s only temporary and so so worth it!

  3. Michal May 10, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    Candice! You look AMAZING! Such a cute pregnant momma you are! I was so sorry to have missed your shower on Sunday. It seems like every time I make plans one of the boys decides to get sick. I have a gift for you and would love to drop it by sometime before your big day. XOXO

    • candice May 13, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

      Michal – you are too sweet! It’s okay about my shower…Kristin told me about Henry (or was it Sam?). I hope he’s feeling better! We would love to get to see you sometime, and I would love to see the boys as well. We need to figure out a way to get together in the next couple of months!

Leave a Reply

