feeling loved

28 May

I admit some years Memorial Day slips by and I realize I barely even thought about the the reason for the holiday.  In the same way Christmas or Easter become a bit convoluted by tradition and fun, this weekend is taken over by things like lake trips and barbecues.  Obviously, there’s nothing wrong with those things, but this year I guess not being able to do anything has made me think more about our reason for celebrating.  So hats off to all our servicemen and women, to their families, and to anyone who has sacrificed in some way for our country. How amazing that they have given their lives for our country and our freedom.

I woke up this morning and immediately started day dreaming about everything I wish I could do to kick off summer.  I would start off by heading to the store to get ingredients for this summery salad, a strawberry pie and some chocolate chip cookies (for the husband).  I would spend the day cooking, listening to music and working on washing baby clothes and towels.  Then we would have friends over tonight and maybe eat dessert out on the back patio.

While very few of those things are actually happening, it has still been a great day.  The husband made me a delicious breakfast, we finished a movie that we started last night, I took a nap, and now I’m about to go do my one approved activity (taking a shower:) to get ready to have friends over tonight.

1.  fruit smoothie with ground flax  2.  english muffin with egg and cheese…all made by the husband:)

I feel so blessed this week to have so many people stopping by to visit.  Last Friday, we ordered in with our sweet friends Elyse and Ryan, on Saturday my mom and step-dad came over and made us dinner, Sunday brought my MIL and FIL bearing PeiWei and cake (!), today our friends from out of town are coming over for dinner, and tomorrow my work friends are coming to visit AND some others are bringing a pizza bar party to us.  These long days have been made so much sweeter by everyone who has called and come by to see us.  Feeling very loved here at the McCoy house today:)

How are you celebrating this weekend?

Leave a Reply

